What does a Disability Liaison Officer do?

Trinity has a well-established support system at School-level to ensure the needs of students with disabilities are addressed. Each school has a nominated staff member who is a key contact within the School for issues relating to disability support, called a Disability Liaison Officer (DLO).

Trinity College Dublin Front Square Large Building

The role of the School DLO is to oversee/monitor the School's process to ensure the effective dissemination and implementation of Reasonable Accommodations proposed by the DS. The DLO responsibilities include the following:

  • To ensure that School staff who need to be aware of students' Reasonable Accommodations have access to the information in SITS.
  • To raise with the relevant Director of Teaching & Learning and/or the Disability Service any concerns regarding accommodations that may impact the academic integrity or core competence standards of teaching and learning within the School.  
  • Liaising with Disability Service staff, their School's Directors of Teaching & Learning and Programme/Course Directors, and assisting in making Reasonable Accommodations for students, and exchanging information as required.
  • The DLO is the first point of contact for students with disabilities when dealing with disability queries.
  • The DLO should have a general awareness and understanding of University and school policies, procedures, and practices, and how these may impact on students with disabilities and long term conditions.     
  • The DLO should also have an awareness and understanding of Equality and Disability legislation, to ensure that their school is compliant with the legislation and is promoting inclusive learning for all students
  • The DLO is not expected to have expert knowledge of disability issues. However, it is important that they work in collaboration with the Disability Service to identify training needs within the school.
  • To be part of a University-wide network of DLOs for the purposes of sharing expertise, good practice and relevant knowledge, skills, and experience. The network will be supported by the DS
  • To report to Academic Registry any technical issues with the SITS system for sharing students’ (LENS) Reasonable Accommodations
  • To develop effective working relationships and establish positive lines of communication with the DS
  • To attend training, workshops, and information events organised by DS.

Disability Liaison Officers

A list of all DLOs in Schools provided as part of the set up of dissemination of LENS information in SITS are given here. DLO roles and responsibilities are listed below.

Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social SciencesNameEmailTelephoneDisability Officer School contact
Business Ms. Joanne Carolan Joanne.Carolan@tcd.ie 01-896 2341 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
Drama, Film, and Music Dr Nick Johnson johnson@tcd.ie 01-896 2295 Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie
Education Dr John Kubiak kubiak@tcd.ie 01-896 3442 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
English Dr. Alice Jorgenson jorgena@tcd.ie 01-896 2337 Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie
Histories and Humanities Ciaran Brady cbrady@tcd.ie 01-896 1578 Kevan O'Rourke - orourkk3@tcd.ie
Languages, Literature and Cultural Studies Dr Rachel Hoare rmhoare@tcd.ie 01-896 1842 Andrew Costello - acostel@tcd.ie
Law Rachel Walsh rachel.walsh@tcd.ie 01-896 1939 Kevan O'Rourke - orourkk3@tcd.ie
Linguistic, Speech, and Communication Studies Prof. Ailbhe Ni Chasaide anichsid@tcd.ie 01-896 1348 Andrew Costello - acostel@tcd.ie

Psychology

Lorraine Swords swordsl@tcd.ie 01-896 3638 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Social Science and Philosophy

Michael Wycherley wycherlm@tcd.ie 01-896 5003 Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie
Social Work and Social Policy Assistant Prof. Michael Feely mfeely@tcd.ie 01-896 4101 Clare Malone - malonec6@tcd.ie
School of Religion Dr Iain Atack atacki@tcd.ie 01-896 4777 Kevan O'Rourke - orourkk3@tcd.ie

 

Faculty of Engineering, Mathematics and ScienceNameEmailTelephoneDisability Officer School contact
Biochemistry and Immunology Ms Martha Motherway Gildea  motherm@tcd.ie 01-896 4257 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
Chemistry Professor Paula Colavitae colavitp@tcd.ie 01- 896 3562 Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie
Computer Science and Statistics Dr Andrew Butterfield andrew.butterfield@tcd.ie 01-896 2517 Andrew Costello - acostel@tcd.ie
Engineering Patricia Hughes pahughes@tcd.ie 01-896 1383 Clare Malone - malonec6@tcd.ie
Genetics and Microbiology Jane Farrar gjfarrar@tcd.ie 01-896 3695 Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie
Mathematics Ms. Karen O'Doherty kodohert@tcd.ie 01-896 1889 Andrew Costello - acostel@tcd.ie
Natural Sciences Dr Catherine Coxon cecoxon@tcd.ie 01-896 2235 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
Physics Dr Plamel Stamenov stamenov.plamen@tcd.ie 01-896 4350 Kevan O'Rourke - orourkk3@tcd.ie

 

Faculty of Health SciencesNameEmailTelephoneDisability Officer School contact
Dental Science Prof. Derek Sullivan

derek.sullivan@tcd.ie

01-612 7275 Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie
Medicine Sharon Thompson sthomps@tcd.ie 01-896 3829 Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie
Radiation Therapy Ms. Claire Poole poolec@tcd.ie 01-896 2973 Clare Malone - malonec6@tcd.ie
Nursing & Midwifery Valeria Smith smithv1@tcd.ie 01-896 4031 Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Dr John Walsh jjwalsh@tcd.ie 01-896 2806 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
Occupational Therapy Dr Clodagh Nolan nolancl@tcd.ie 01-896 3211 Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
Physiotherapy Ms Sarah McLaughlin physio@tcd.ie 01-896 2110 Clare Malone - malonec6@tcd.ie
Human Nutrition & Dietetics Dr. Annemarie Bennett annemarie.bennett@tcd.ie 01-896 2477 Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie