Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Leru


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a network of 23 leading research universities that are located in 12 European countries. LERU is a respected voice in the European Higher Education Area and is committed to upholding sound conditions for research, especially basic research, and teaching.

Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin has been a member of this prestigious network since February 2017 and contributes to its numerous working groups in a variety of ways. 

An overview of Trinity's involvement can be found below.

Policy Groups

LERU Group Trinity participant(s)
RA – Rectors’ Assembly Provost, Dr Linda Doyle
BIOM – Biomedicine/Life Sciences Dean of Health Sciences, Prof Brian O’Connell
DOCT – Doctoral Studies Dean of Graduate Studies, Prof Martine Smith
ENTE – Enterprise & Innovation Director of Trinity Research & Innovation, Mr Leonard Hobbs
ERPM – European Research Project Managers Associate Director - European Engagement, Ms Doris Alexander
INFO – Information & Open Access Librarian & College Archivist, Ms Helen Shenton
LEAR – Teaching & Learning Vice-Provost / Chief Academic Officer, Prof Orla Sheils
Digital Education Prof Tim Savage, School of Computer Science & Statistics
NATU – Natural Sciences Dean of Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Prof Sylvia Draper
RESE – Research Dean of Research, Prof Wolfgang Schmitt
INTE - Research Integrity

Associate Dean of Research, Prof Maria Brenner

Senior Dean, Prof Eoin O’Sullivan
CARE - Careers of Researchers & Human Resources Director of Human Resources, Ms Antoinette Quinn
Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Associate Vice Provost for Equality, Diversity & Inclusion, Prof Lorraine Leeson
SSHU – Social Sciences & Humanities Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences, Prof Gail McElroy

Thematic Groups

LERU Group Trinity participant(s)
ALUM – Alumni Director of Alumni, Ms Jennifer Taaffe
CHAR – Charitable Funding Director of Campaigns, Ms Kate Bond
ANIM – Protection of Animals Used for Scientific Purposes Prof Mark Cunningham, School of Medicine
CRIM – Crime & Social Control Prof Mary Rogan, School of Law
ETHI – Ethics Prof Linda Hogan, School of Religion, Theology, and Peace Studies
LAW – Law Head of School of Law, Prof Caoimhín MacMaoláin
THRS – Theology & Religion Studies Head of School of Religion, Theology, and Peace Studies, Prof Siobhán Garrigan

Network Groups

LERU Group Trinity participant(s)
COMM – Directors of Communications Director of Public Affairs & Communications, Mr Tom Molloy
SON – Senior Officers’ Network Primary contact person for LERU at Trinity College Dublin – Director of the Provost’s Office, Mr Shane Collins

LERU Ad Hoc Groups

LERU Group Trinity participant(s)
Open Science Ambassadors Associate Dean of Research, Prof Immo Warntjes
Sustainability Vice President for Biodiversity & Climate Action, Prof Jane Stout
KS&FI - Knowledge Security & Finance Interference Prof Pádraig Carmody, School of Natural Sciences & Trinity Director of CHARM-EU
Dual Use

Research Project Officer, TR&I, Dr Gillian Marmelstein

Head of Research Contracts, TR&I, Ms Mary Tracey

Technology Transfer Case Manager, TR&I, Dr John Whelan

LERU Nagoya Protocol 

Licensing Manager, TR&I, Dr Samantha Williams

Prof Aiden Corvin, School of Medicine