Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Postgraduate Research > Research Groups > Applied Physics Research Group > Group Members

Group Members

Principal Investigator

Prof. Igor V. Shvets

Chair of Applied Physics
School of Physics & CRANN
Trinity College Dublin

View profile

Postdoctoral Researchers

Postgraduate Students

Research Assistants

    Joseph Dee

    Tel: +353 (0) 1-896 2020
    View Profile

    Sebastian Harenbrock


    Alexander Shvets



    Eva Naessens is working part time as an assistant to Prof Shvets and in the Finance Office.

Past Members

Dr. Pranab Biswas

Dr. Karsten Fleischer

Dr. Barry Murphy

Dr. Askar Syrlybekov

Graeme Power

Mark Allen

Bridget Gavin

Bridget was our group administrator.

Emma Norton

Michael McInerney

Leo Farrell

Ozhet Mauit

Dr. Brendan O'Dowd

Dr. Cormac Ó Coileáin

Dr. Olaf Lübben

Dr. Alexander Chaika

Dr. Elisabetta Arca

Brendan Bulfin

Brendan submitted his Ph.D. thesis in January 2015. View profile

Oral Ualibek

Oral passed his Ph.D. Viva in December 2014 and has taken up a researcher position at Nazarbayev University Research and Innovation System, Kazakhstan

Ruggero Verre

Ruggero completed his Ph.D. in plasmonic nanoparticle arrays, and is now working the Bionanophotonic group at Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden.

Han Chun Wu

We continue to collaborate with Han Chun who is now a Professor at the Beijing Institute of Technology. For more information see our research page on this project.

Rafael Ramos

Rafael completed his Ph.D. on magneto-transport in magnetite, and is now working at The Institute of Nanoscience of Aragon at the University of Zaragoza.

Sumesh Sofin R.G.

Sumesh is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics at Sultan Qaboos University, Oman.

Floriano Cuccureddu

Floriano now works with the Plasmonics and Ultrafast Nanooptics groups in the School of Physics in University College Dublin.

Vivienne Williams

Vivienne is CEO of Cellix, a spin-out company from the Applied Physics group.

Sundar Raja Vadapoo

Joanna Baginska

Barry Heffernan

Savas Ulucan

Anthony McCoy

Paul Christopher McElligott

Kevin Radican

Ciarán McEvoy

Giuseppe Manai

Alexandru Cazacu

Kenneth William Jordan

Askar Syrlybekov

Olzat Toktarbaiuly