Research Activities

Founded in 1980 by J. M. D. Coey, we are the leading magnetism research group in Ireland. The first M.Sc. graduated in 1982 and the first Ph.D. in 1984. Since then over 70 M.Sc and PhDs have graduated and over 200 postdocs, visiting academics and summer students have engaged in group research from Ireland and other countries.


Group Principal Investigators


Prof. Michael Coey

School of Physics & CRANN, Trinity College Dublin

+ 353 1 896 1470


Professor Emeritus from 2012
Erasmus Smith's Professor of Natural and Experimental Philosophy (1724) from 2007-2012

Prof. Plamen Stamenov

School of Physics, Trinity College Dublin

+ 353 1 896 4350


SIRG (SFI) Assistant Professor, Ussher Lecturer of Physics (Nanomagnetism) and CRANN Principal Investigator