Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Research > Research Groups > Ultramicroscopy Group > Group Members

Ultramicroscopy Group Members

Group Picture

Current Group Members

Group Leader

PhD Students (alphabetical)

  • Shauna Lawless BSc
    Shauna was awarded a BSc in Chemical & Pharmaceutical Sciences from Dublin City University in 2018. While at DCU, she completed a research project on the light-induced bending of microcantilevers functionalised with photochromic spiropyrans, under the supervision of Dr. Larisa Florea and Professor Dermot Diamond of the Insight Centre for Data Analytics. She worked in nutritional analysis while completing her undergraduate degree, before beginning her PhD in the Ultramicroscopy group in TCD in 2018. This work focuses on the evaluation of additive manufacturing as a novel route for fabrication in electron microscopy. Shauna has a strong interest in STEM outreach, and promoting the Irish language, and conducts science workshops for primary schools, through both English and Irish
  • Patrick McBean BA
    Patrick received his BSc in Physics & Astrophysics in 2019 from Trinity College Dublin. Following his final year research project with Professor Jonathan Coleman in the Chemical Physics of Low-Dimensional Nanostructures research group, he is now working on his PhD with the Ultramicroscopy Group doing computational modelling of magnetic fields. In his spare time he competes in badminton and air-rifle.
  • Frances Quigley BA
    Frances graduated from her undergraduate degree in Physics in Trinity College Dublin in 2019. During this she completed a research project in surface-science at Soochow University, China as well as a biophysics project at the University of Sydney using high performance computing. She is currently studying for her PhD with Dr. Lewys Jones in low-energy electron microscopy with the aim of creating a new low-energy electron emitter exploiting photoelectric emission. Frances has a strong interest in science communication and has worked for almost three years in the Science Gallery Dublin as a mediator developing her science communication skills.

Undergraduate Research Students

  • Jean O Brien
    Jean is a second year undergraduate student studying theoretical physics in Trinity. In 2018 she completed a summer research project entitled "Sample Preparation for Transmission Electron Microscopy" as part of the Ultramicroscopy group. She is a recipient of the Naughton Scholarship and the Laidlaw Scholarship and is currently researching microplastics in the environment in Ireland as part of the Lailaw programme. Her project involves five weeks of research in the summer of 2019 and a further five weeks of research in the summer of 2020, after which she will produce a final report and poster.

Past Group Members

Former Final-year Project Students (alphabetical)


  • Connal McNamara
  • Catriona Murphy
  • Tiarnan Mullarkey
  • Mark Murray

Former Summer Intern Students (alphabetical)


  • Michael Mitchell
  • Jean O Brien
  • William O Sullivan
  • Claire Rieger (UCSB)