Scholarships and Prizes

Two students sitting on a step chatting

Trinity Business School provides numerous scholarships to students from across the world in our commitment to develop outstanding global business leaders. Previous recipients come from a variety of countries and educational backgrounds but all displayed strong academic and personal achievements.

Foundation Scholarship

Foundation scholarship is a College institution with a long history and high prestige. The examination for the award of scholarship is set and assessed so as to select students of outstanding ability. Foundation Scholarship is a College institution with a long history and high prestige. Some of our greatest alumni – such as Edmund Burke, Samuel Beckett, and Mary Robinson - were Scholars.  It is a distinctive feature of student life here at Trinity and now is the opportunity for Senior Freshman students to join the ranks of Trinity Scholars.

The objective of the Foundation Scholarship examination is to identify students who, at a level of evaluation appropriate to the Senior Freshman (second year), can consistently demonstrate exceptional knowledge and understanding of their subjects.

Scholars enjoy significant benefits including Commons free of charge, rooms free of charge for up to nine months of the year, and are entitled to remission of the annual fee appropriate to their main course of study if they are not in receipt of outside scholarships or grants, save that undergraduate scholars from non-EU countries shall have their fees reduced by an amount corresponding to the appropriate level fee level of an EU fee paying student.

Foundation scholars are elected annually on the result of an examination held in the week before the start of Hilary term with the results announced on Trinity Monday.

For more information on this scholarship, visit Academic Registry's website.

Trinity Business Student of the Year

Trinity Business School  and Trinity Business Alumni in association with Bank of Ireland present the annual Business Student of the Year Award.

The Award both recognises and celebrates students who have achieved excellence on a number of dimensions.   These include academic performance, athletic success, entrepreneurial and social engagement as well as ethical leadership.

Previous Winners:

2021: Laura Brennan and Oran McVeigh Keeling

2020 Sinead McAleer
2019 Marie Louise O'Callaghan
2018 Arthaud Mesnard
2017 Benn Hogan
2016 Conor O’Meara
2015 Ben Butler
2014 Jill Pierse
2013 Iseult Ward
2012 Patrick Lynch
2011 Daniel Philbin Bowman
2010 Conor O’Toole

Read the article on the 2021 winners here

David Feldman Prize

This prize was founded in 1985 by a gift from David Feldman, a Business graduate. The purpose of the prize is to encourage business students to adopt a broad philosophical attitude to issues and challenges in the business world. The prize will be awarded annually to a Sophister or postgraduate student in business studies. It will be based on a dissertation or project judged by the examiners to demonstrate the application of philosophical thought, logical argument, as well as metaphysical and perhaps ethical approach to the understanding of business. 

Patrick O'Sullivan Prize

This prize was founded in 2009 by a gift from Patrick O'Sullivan's family. Patrick is a graduate of the Business School and retired in 2009 as Vice-Chairman and Chief Growth Officer of Zurich Financial Services. The prize is awarded annually, on the recommendation of Trinity Business School, to the candidate who performs at the highest level in the Senior Sophister course in Exploring Organisational Experiences.

The winners are:

  • 2015 Emma Gilroy; 2014 Conor Bates; 2013 Mark Donnelly;
  • 2012 Charles Landale; 2011 Alan Crosbie; 2010 Joanna Mulkeen

Abd El-Motaal Book Prize

This prize was founded in 1965 by a gift from Mostafa H.B. Abd El-Motaal, our former Lecturer in Accounting. It is awarded annually to the best student in financial and management accounting and financial reporting and analysis.

Trinity Business Alumni Prize

This prize was founded in 1993 by the Trinity Business Alumni. It is awarded to the student whose project, submitted in partial fulfilment of the requirements of the final Global Business degree examination, is ranked by the court of examiners as the best overall project submitted by a Global Business candidate, conditional upon a minimum second class (first division) grade having been achieved overall and in the project.

The Rory McDonagh Prize

This prize was founded in 2016 by the trustees of The Rory McDonagh Trust. It is awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Trinity Business School, to the candidate who performs at the highest level in the senior sophister module, International Business. The prize is valued €250 of which you will be awarded your share of €125.

Trinity College has a range of scholarships for non-EU students, please visit our website.