Trinity Sport unveiled its sport scholars for the 2023 / 24 season on Monday, 13th November at an event for family and friends at the Dining Hall, Trinity College Dublin. This year’s awardees, comprising of 36 Trinity Sport scholars and 28 club academy scholars will represent Trinity this season across seventeen sports including rugby, basketball, GAA, soccer, rowing, and cricket. Maire Treasa Ni Cheallaigh presented the awards on the night and Trinity student athletes Melanie Griffith (Wheelchair Basketball and Rugby player), Harry Sheridan (Ulster Rugby player) and Kathryn Dane (Irish International Rugby player) took part in a panel discussion on the theme of ‘Resilience in Sport’ on the night.

William Mac Donald Hughes (Fencing), Thomas Connolly (Rugby) and Anna Jones (Gaelic Football) receive this year’s Trevor West Scholarship which is awarded to exceptional athletes who have shown outstanding contribution to sport at Trinity and within their respective sport clubs. Lisa Blaney (Basketball) receives the K.O. Lee basketball scholarship in association with Trinity Meteors. The scholarship was created in memory of Trinity alumnus K.O Lee who coached the Meteors Ladies Basketball team at Trinity and contributed to the team’s success in the 1970s. Juan Buekes (Rugby) received this year’s Global Graduate Sport Scholarship in association with Trinity Business School while Shane Enright (GAA Football) received this year’s GPA / Trinity Business School scholarship.

Michelle Tanner, Director of Sport and Physical Activity, Trinity College Dublin commented on the night, “We’re thrilled to be here this evening to recognise the achievements and commitments of Trinity’s student athletes. We are thrilled to celebrate this year’s exceptional calibre of student athletes for the 2023 / ‘24 academic year. With representation from seventeen sports and a diverse array of internationally acclaimed and emerging athletes, Trinity College Dublin reaffirms our commitment to nurturing sporting talents.”

Dr. Richard Porter, Dean of Students, Trinity College Dublin commented, “I am delighted to be here this evening to celebrate the remarkable achievements of our student athletes who have been awarded a place on this year's Trinity Sport Scholarship Programme. This scholarship recognises your achievements so far, and importantly, your potential to go even further. The Trinity Sport Scholarship Programme reflects our commitment to providing unwavering support to student athletes, enabling you to compete not only at regional and national levels but also on the international stage. We firmly believe that you can excel both in your academic pursuits and your chosen sports, and we are here to ensure you have the resources and encouragement to do just that.”

Among those on the high-performance pathway are:

    Ireland Senior International and Leinster Rugby players – Ryan Baird and Joe McCarthy


    Ireland Senior Rugby Internationals - Kathryn Dane and Megan Collis


    Ireland U-20's Rugby International – Paddy McCarthy


    Ireland Senior Basketball player – Sarah Kenny


    Dublin GAA Senior Football player – Sean Bugler


    Ireland Senior Cricket players – Rebecca Stokell, Leah Paul and Georgina Dempsey


    Irish Senior Volleyball players – Grace Maloney and Liam Corcoran


Trinity College Dublin Sport Scholars 2023 / 24:
Aoife Nelligan – GAA Camogie
Cian Tiernan – Basketball
Cuileann Bourke – GAA Handball
Daniel Meagher – Event Equestrian
Dr. Shannon Kelly – Triathlon
Ellen Barbour – Sailing
Erin McIlwaine – Sailing
Gavin Hoey – Cricket
Georgina Dempsey – Cricket
Grace Healy – Rowing
Grace Moloney – Volleyball
Harry Sheridan – Rugby
Isobel Radford-Dodd – Pentathlon and Fencing
Joe McCarthy – Rugby
Kathryn Dane – Rugby
Leah Paul – Cricket
Lee Pearson – GAA – Gaelic Football
Liam Corcoran – Volleyball
Matthew Humphreys – Cricket
Megan Collis – Rugby
Melanie Griffith – Wheelchair Basketball and Rugby
Paddy McCarthy – Rugby
Rebecca Stokell – Cricket
Ryan Baird – Rugby
Sam Hickmott – Hockey
Sarah Hawkshaw – Tennis
Sarah Kenny – Basketball
Sean Bugler – GAA Gaelic Football
Sean Purcell – GAA Hurling
Thomas Bean – Hockey

K.O Lee Scholarship 2023 / 24 recipient:
Lisa Blaney – Basketball

Trevor West Scholars 2023 / 24:
William Mac Donald Hughes – Fencing
Thomas Connolly – Rugby
Anna Jones – GAA Gaelic Football

Global Graduate Sport Scholars 2023 / 24:
Juan Buekes – Rugby

Club academy Scholars 2023 / 24:
Theo Dempsey – Cricket
David Vincent – Cricket
Daniel Conway - Basketball
Lee Stacey – Soccer
Aaron Coleman – Rugby
Anthony Ryan – Rugby
Jerry Cahir – Rugby
Cormac King – Rugby
Dylan Ryan – Rugby
Diarmuid McCormack – Rugby
John Francis Campbell – Rugby
Harry Colbert – Rugby
Taylor Gleeson – Rugby
Callum O’ Reilly – Rugby
Max Dunne – Rugby
Liam Nolan – Rugby
Hugh O’ Kennedy – Rugby
Dave Walsh – Rugby
Conall Henchy – Rugby
Hugh Goddard – Rugby
Zach Quirke – Rugby
Zach Baird – Rugby
David Colbert – Rugby
Charlie Naughton – Rugby
Cuan Doyle – Rugby
Oscar Cawley – Rugby
Alex Kelly – Rugby
James O’ Sullivan – Rugby