Maire Treasa Ni Cheallaigh presented the awards on the night and Trinity student athletes Joe McCarthy (International Rugby player), Rebecca Stokell (International Cricket player) and Katie Mullan (International hockey player) took part in a ‘dual career: combining sports and studies’ panel discussion on the night.

Sadhbh Doyle, Gavin Hoey and Harry Sheridan were recognised as Trevor West Sport Scholarship athletes for their contribution to their respective sports at Trinity and outstanding performances. Giulia Anderlini and Niamh Kenny were recognised as K.O Lee Basketball sport scholarship athletes. This is awarded is in association with Trinity Meteors, this scholarship is in memory of K.O. Lee, Trinity alumnus and coach of the Meteors Ladies Basketball team in the 1970s.

Linda Doyle, Provost, Trinity College Dublin commented on the night, “I would like to congratulate all our student athletes who are receiving scholarships. It is impressive to see how they balance their commitment to sport with their commitment to their studies. This takes a lot of hard work and dedication. The scholarships will enable our student athletes to continue to pursue their passion for sport while also benefiting from the excellent educational opportunities at Trinity. I am delighted to celebrate the students’ achievements and award these scholarships in recognition of such exceptional sporting ability.”

Michelle Tanner, Director of Sport and Physical Activity, Trinity College Dublin commented on the night, “We’re delighted to be celebrating the strongest calibre of student athletes that we’ve had for many years, certainly in the history of the Trinity Sport Scholarship awards programme. It is quite outstanding the number and level of student athletes that we have in Trinity including international, senior county and academy pathway athletes. We’re very excited about their prospects and potential over the coming months and years.”

Prof. Catherine McCabe, Dean of Students, Trinity College Dublin commented, “To our student athletes, congratulations on receiving a place on this year’s Trinity Sport Scholarship Programme. This scholarship recognises your achievements so far, and importantly, your potential to go even further. All of you here today come from a wide range of sports, including athletics, basketball, GAA, rowing, cricket, and rugby. It is our commitment to ensure all our student athletes get the full support and backing of the University to compete regionally, nationally and at international levels while also being able to excel in your academic course.”

Among those on the high-performance pathway are:

    Ireland Senior International Hockey Player and World Cup silver medalist - Katie Mullan


    Ireland Senior International and Leinster rugby players – Ryan Baird and Joe McCarthy


    Ireland Senior International and Ulster rugby player - Kathryn Dane 


    Irish Senior 7’s and 15’s player - Meabh Deely


    Irish Senior Cricket players – Rebecca Stokell and Leah Paul


    Irish Senior Basketball Internationals – Dayna Finn and Sarah Kenny


    Irish Senior Volleyball players - Lara McNichols and Grace Maloney


Trinity College Dublin Sport Scholars 2022 / 23:
Anna Jones – Gaelic Football
Conall Henchy – Rugby
Cuileann Bourke – GAA Handball
Dayna Finn – Basketball
Erin McIlwaine – Sailing
Grace Moloney – Volleyball
Isobel Radford-Dodd – Modern Pentathlon and Fencing
Joseph McCarthy – Rugby
Katie Mullan – Hockey
Kathryn Dane - Rugby
Lara McNichols – Volleyball
Laura Noble – Hockey
Leah Paul – Cricket
Lee Pearson – Gaelic Football
Lisa Blaney – Basketball
Meabh Deely – Rugby
Paddy McCarthy – Rugby
Rebecca Stokell – Cricket
Rory Brickenden – Gaelic Football
Ryan Baird – Rugby
Sam Hickmott – Hockey
Sarah Kenny – Basketball

K.O Lee Scholarship 2022 / 23:
Giulia Anderlini - Basketball
Niamh Kenny – Basketball

Trevor West Scholars 2022 / 23:
Gavin Hoey – Cricket
Harry Sheridan – Rugby
Sadhbh Doyle – Soccer

Club academy Scholars 2022 / 23:
Alex Devitt – Basketball
Darragh Timmons – Basketball
Theo Dempsey - Cricket
Mikey O' Reilly - Cricket
David Vincent - Cricket
Matthew Humphreys - Cricket
Ronan Brennan – Rowing
Tiarnan McKnight – Rowing
Tom Stevens – Rowing
Ronan Quinn – Rugby
Louis O’Reilly – Rugby
Aaran Coleman – Rugby
Thomas Connolly – Rugby
Gavin Jones – Rugby
Anthony Ryan – Rugby
Cormac King – Rugby
Dylan Ryan – Rugby
Diarmuid McCormack – Rugby
Peter Maher – Rugby
John Francis Campbell – Rugby
Callum O'Reilly – Rugby
Max Dunne – Rugby
Jonathan Ross – Rugby
Liam Nolan – Rugby
Dave Walsh – Rugby
Hugh O'Kennedy – Rugby
Sam Berman – Rugby
Zach Quirke – Rugby
Matt Victory – Rugby
David Colbert – Rugby
Aran Egan – Rugby
Ruadhan Byron – Rugby
Marcus Kiely – Rugby