The Trinity Sport Awards took place on Tuesday, 9th May 2023 at the Royal Marine Hotel, eleven awards and the Pinks ceremony were announced during the awards ceremony. The annual awards are open to all sport clubs, and they acknowledge the extraordinary commitment made by the sporting community at Trinity College Dublin. The 10th Annual Trinity Sport Awards 2023 were presented by broadcast journalist, Maire Treasa Ni Cheallaigh.

Reflecting on the year, Michelle Tanner, Director of Sport and Physical Activity at Trinity College Dublin commented on the night, “We are honoured to be here this evening to celebrate the extraordinary achievements, commitment and dedication of our sports clubs and sporting community at Trinity College Dublin. It is so important to celebrate and take pride in all your achievements over the last year. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate every student athlete, administrator, volunteer, club member, team, alumni, coach, and club nominated this evening for a Trinity Sport Award. I would also like to thank our sporting colleagues and friends throughout the University, who continue to support our student sporting endeavours.”

The highly coveted Sport Person of the Year Award in association with Kitman Labs went to Irish Rugby International and Leinster Rugby Player, Ryan Baird. Ryan has had a sensational sporting year. He has appeared 7 times and scored 2 tries in the United Rugby Championship this season (2022/23) with Leinster Rugby and has played in the last 3 Champions Cup games helping secure Leinster Rugby’s place in the final against La Rochelle on 20th May 2023.

Ryan featured in the 2023 Six Nations Championship coming off the bench against Italy and Scotland, he started the final game against England which saw Ireland win the Six Nations Championship and the Grand Slam. He has done all this while studying Computer Science and Business Studies at Trinity College Dublin.

The ‘Team of the Year’ Award went to Trinity Volleyball men’s team, Trinity Volleyball Men’s team are the Student Sport Ireland and Volleyball Ireland Tier 1 Cup & League Champions this year and they also were Semi Finalists in National Premier Division after getting promoted last year. The ‘Performance of the Year’ Award went to Trinity Women’s Rugby division one playoff game. The ‘Club of the Year’ Award in association with Headon Boxing Academy was awarded to DU Trampoline club. The ‘Communications and Impact’ Award in association with Wix was awarded to Trinity Athletics (DUHAC).

The full list award winners are as follows:
Sport Person of the Year Winner – Ryan Baird
Performance of the Year Winner – Trinity Women’s Rugby Division One Playoff Game
Team of the Year Winner – Trinity Volleyball Men’s Team
Club of the Year Winner – DU Trampoline Club
Club Officer of the Year Winner – Siddhant Seth (Trinity Squash)
Coach of the Year Winner – Shane Maughan (Trinity Basketball)
Volunteer of the Year Winner – Diana Bura (Trinity Badminton)
Alumni of the Year Winner – Rory Clarke (Trinity Rugby)
Inclusive Club Award Winner – Trinity Climbing Club
Communications and Impact Award Winner - Trinity Athletics (DUHAC)
Trinity Sport ‘Member of The Year’ Winner – Rhona Prendergast

In addition to the Sport Awards, the University Pinks were announced on the night including, Sam Hickmott – Hockey, Louise Kennedy – Equestrian, India Rogers – Equestrian, Jane Hogg – DULBC, Miriam Kelly – DULBC, Tom Stevens – DUBC, Tadhg McKnight – DUBC, Tiarnan McKnight – DUBC, Ryan Baird – Rugby and Harry Sheridan – Rugby. The University Pinks are awarded to student athletes who have shown outstanding individual merit in their chosen sport – in much the same vein as a ‘Blue’ is allocated in Oxford and Cambridge. Pinks is the highest sporting achievement that Trinity can bestow upon its students, recipients are chosen by the Trinity sport club captains. Over 1,240 students have received the prestigious accolade since its inception in 1927.