The recipients of Trinity’s 2023 Research Excellence Awards were honoured at a ceremony hosted by the Dean of Research, Prof. Sinead Ryan this week. Launched in 2020, the Research Excellence Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of researchers and those who support research in Trinity.

The awards are aligned to the seven core principles of Trinity’s Research Charter which sets out a vision to engage in research with the quality, intensity, depth, diversity, and openness that leads to fundamental breakthroughs, new understandings, key insights, and that can make translational and transformative advances. A call out to Trinity staff was made in March to nominate colleagues who best embody the spirit of a specific principle.

Congratulations to Dr Erika Piazzoli ('Broaden our local and global impact') and Dr Andrew Gibson ('Cherish academic freedom, diversity of scholarship and pursuit of truth') who received their awards from Prof. Sinead Ryan. We extend our congratulations also to Dr Mairéad Hurley and Dr Joseph Roche who were awarded back in 2020 in their category ('Engage profoundly with our publics') but due to Covid restrictions the event did not take place in 2020 but received their award at this year's event.

Andrew Gibson Trinity Research Excellence AwardImage: Dr Andrew Gibson & Prof. Sinead Ryan

Mairead Hurley Trinity Research Excellence AwardImage: Dr Mairéad Hurley & Dr Fiona Smyth