Professor Brian O’Connell, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, presented awards to individuals and teams in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to the mission of the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Prof Mary McCarron, Acting Head of the School of Nursing & Midwifery, was in attendance with colleagues to congratulate staff from the School of Nursing & Midwifery who were recognised in three categories; Innovation in Teaching, Professional & Support Staff, and Outstanding Contribution to Teaching in Professional Practice.

Innovation in Teaching Award

The spirit of the Innovation in Teaching Award is to encourage teaching innovations within the Faculty of Health Sciences, where the outcomes will be shared with colleagues across the Faculty and beyond. 

Dr Jan De Vries and project team including Sinéad Impey and Dr Sunita Panda, were recognised for their project: 'Connecting Theory and Practice in Clinical Decision Making.'

Staff from the school of nursing and midwifery receive a teaching award

Pictured: Dr Sunita Panda, Dr Jan de Vries and Prof Mary McCarron.

Prof Catherine Comiskey and project team including Muluken Basa and Dr Sonam Prakashini Banka-Cullen, were recognised for their project: 'Artificial Intelligence (AI) assisted Statistical Support Web Application for Health Sciences Students.'

Staff from the school of nursing and midwifery with award

Pictured: Muluken Basa, Prof Catherine Comiskey and Prof Mary McCarron.

Professional & Support Staff Award

Our Research Finance Team were presented with the team award for their collegiality and for working together in a collaborative and cooperative manner. The team includes: Annabel Walsh, Rebecca Kelly, Dr Ekaterina Kozina, Dr Luciana Lolich, Marie - Pierre Lavergne, Clara Norris, Elizabeth O’ Shaughnessy, Gavin Dann and Keith Brennan.

Research Finance team collect award 

Pictured: Prof Mary McCarron, Annabel Walsh, Dr Luciana Lolich, Rebecca Kelly, Elizabeth O'Shaughnessy, Gavin Dann, Prof Brian O'Connell, Keith Brennan and Clara Norris.

Outstanding Contribution to Teaching in Professional Practice Award

This award was developed to recognise the significant contribution of professionals who do not hold appointments with Trinity to the delivery of teaching to our undergraduate and postgraduate students. 

Kamila Gowron was presented with the award, and was nominated by staff of The Coombe Hospital.

Kamila Gown receives Dean's Award

Pictured: Kamila Gowron and Prof Mary McCarron