Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

Site map


CercleS CEFR / ELP Seminar (CERCLES2015) 11-12 June 2015

Sociolinguistics Summer School 6 (SSS6) 4-7 August 2015



Simon Harris TD welcomes Irish Sign Language Tours at OPW Heritage Sites

ISLopwSimon Harris TD, Minister of State with special responsibility for the Office of Public Works (OPW) is delighted to announce that the OPW, working in conjunction with the Centre for Deaf Studies, at Trinity College Dublin (TCD) will offer a programme of Irish Sign Language interpreted tours at a number of OPW heritage sites in January and February 2015.
The programme will commence in Dublin Castle on Sunday 18 January with free signed tours of the Castle available to members of the deaf and hard of hearing community. The initiative will continue in Farmleigh House on Saturday 31 January and Sunday 1 February, with more sites planned for later in the Spring.

The Language Garden

One-night event that took a 'snapshot' of all the different varieties of languages spoken in Dublin on 26th. September 2014. More information »





Dr. Ilana Rozanes conferred with doctorate

On Friday 5 December, we saw Dr. Ilana Rozanes conferred. Dr. Rozanes’s work focused on the topic, “Addressing the Language Barrier in Healthcare: Developing a Theory to Understand the Work of Medical Interpreters”. While she focused on the work of both spoken and signed language interpreters in healthcare settings in several countries, Dr. Rozanes’ work is the first doctoral level study in Ireland to explore aspects of the work of signed language interpreters.


Irish Translators’ and Interpreters’ Association (ITIA) confer Honarary Membership on Prof. Leeson

On Friday 5th December, Dr. Mary Phelan, Chairperson of the Irish Translators’ and Interpreters’ Association (ITIA) conferred honorary membership on Professor Lorraine Leeson. The ITIA’s citation read: “In recognition of her outstanding contribution to sign language interpreting and linguistics; her leadership in establishing and heading the Centre for Deaf Studies at Trinity College Dublin; her enthusiasm for and dedication to her work; her appointment as the first Professor of Deaf Studies in Ireland; her research with academic institutions, Deaf communities and interpreting organisations; her extensive publications; her national, European and international profile; the Irish Translators’ and Interpreters’ Association (Cumann Aistritheoirí agus Ateangairí na hÉireann) is pleased to confer Honorary Membership of the Association on Lorraine Leeson”

Dr. Neasa Ní Chiaráin conferred with doctorate

Dr. Neasa Ní Chiaráin was conferred on Friday, 5 December. Dr. Ní Chiaráin’s work focused on the topic of computer aided language learning.








Award for M.Sc. Clinical Speech and Language Studies student Irene Calvo at European Society Swallowing Disorders Congress in Brussels

calvoCongratulations to M.Sc Clinical Speech and Language Studies student Irene Calvo who has won the award for best overall abstract and oral presentation at the European Society Swallowing Disorders Congress in Brussels. Her research on the diagnostic accuracy of clinical feeding evaluation to detect aspiration in children was carried out under the supervision of Professor Margaret Walshe.  Ms Calvo has now been offered a place at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore to carry out research with Professor Ianessa Humbert, a world renowned expert in the field of dysphagia.

The Department of Clinical Speech and Language Studies was well represented at this international congress in Brussels. Ten M.Sc and PhD students with Professor Walshe  presented their research in swallowing disorders. M.Sc Clinical Speech and Language Studies alumni were also amongst those invited to present their research. This highlights the growing volume of high quality research carried out in the area of dysphagia at the Department of Clinical Speech and Language Studies at Trinity College.

2014 graduating class of Bachelor in Deaf Studies

In the photo fromleft to right:
(back row) Dr. John Bosco Conama, Ms. Carol McArdle, Mr.Conor Patrick O’Beirne, Ms. Sarah Garvey, Ms. Eileen Drumgoole, Ms. Annik Dennehy,
(front row) Ms. Claire Sweeney, Ms. Patrice Desmond, Ms. Shauna Lawes, Prof. Lorraine Leeson, Ms. Lucia Venturi, Mr. Patrick Matthews.

Back to top

Last updated 19 March 2015 by