Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here About > Clinical Speech & Language Studies > Department of Clinical Speech and Language Studies: Organisational and Staffing Structure

Department of Clinical Speech and Language Studies: Organisational and Staffing Structure

Faculty structure

There are three Faculties within College: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (AHSS,; Engineering, Mathematics and Science ( ; and Health Sciences ( The School of Linguistic, Speech, and Communication Sciences is in the Faculty of AHSS. Each Faculty is led by a Faculty Dean (See Figure 1). There are 12 component Schools within AHSS. Each Head of School is a member of the Faculty Executive. Faculty Deans provide academic and strategic leadership within their Faculty. They play a pivotal role in the overall academic and strategic development of the College, and are ex officio members of the Executive Officers Group.

Organisational and staffing structure to support the programme

Heads of School are appointed by, and are formally accountable to, the Board. The current Head of School is Prof. Lorna Carson ( The Head of School is responsible for the effective general management of the School, for ensuring the provision of academic leadership and strategic vision, and for the quality of the student experience. The Head of School is the budget holder, following devolved authority, and is financially accountable to the Faculty Dean (in the first instance) for the School.

The Director of Teaching and Learning (Undergraduate) (DUTL)  has delegated responsibility for the undergraduate affairs of the School and plays a central strategic role with regard to both existing and new teaching programmes and provides a crucial link to the central Teaching and Learning Committee of the university.  The current DUTL is Prof. Breffni O’Rourke ( Broadly, three main areas of responsibility are identified for the Director of Teaching and Learning (Undergraduate): general management of the undergraduate teaching programmes; promotion of best practice and innovation; and development of overall policy with regard to both existing teaching programmes and proposed new programmes. 

The responsibilities of Head of Discipline include providing academic leadership in the discipline, having responsibility for the oversight of standards pertaining to the discipline, and briefing the Head of School on any matters relating to the welfare of the discipline in College, contributing to policy formation and strategic planning, advising on examiners and all discipline-specific research administration. The current Head of Discipline is Prof. Margaret Walshe.


Back to top