Provost Teaching Awards 2009 Announced

Posted on: 29 May 2009

Recipients of the 2009 Provost’s Teaching Awards were Dr Deirdre Connolly , lecturer in Occupational Therapy in the School of Medicine and Dr Patrick Geoghegan, lecturer in History in the School of Histories and Humanities,who were recognised for their dedication and commitment to teaching and learning excellence. In addition, Dr Gareth Bennett, Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering lecturer in the School of Engineering received the Early Teaching Award and Professor John W. O’Hagan, lecturer in Economics at the School of Social Sciences and Philosophy was presented with the Provost’s Teaching Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr gareth bennett, prof john w. o'hagan, dr patrick geoghegan and dr deirdre connolly
Winners of the 2009 Provost Teaching Awards Dr Gareth Bennett, Professor John W. O’Hagan, Dr Patrick Geoghegan and Dr Deirdre Connolly.

Provost Dr John Hegarty presented the winners with their citations and awards at a ceremony in the Provost’s House on May 26 last. There were 30 overall nominations by staff and students of Trinity for this year’s awards which are presented to academic staff members who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence in College and promote teaching as a scholarly activity. The scheme is sponsored by the Higher Education Authority and funded under the National Development Plan 2000-2006.

The candidates were selected through a rigorous process involving their nomination by their students or peers in College, an assessment of their teaching philosophy, practice and scholarship, an evaluation of their teaching portfolios, and consideration of review reports from their academic peers.  This process was overseen by the Provost’s Teaching Award Review Panel, comprising the Director of Centre for Academic Practice and Student Learning (CAPSL), three representatives of the academic staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students, and an external examiner who has the difficult task of selecting the winners