Outstanding contributions to research honoured in Research Excellence Awards

Posted on: 01 June 2023

The recipients of Trinity’s 2023 Research Excellence Awards were honoured at a ceremony hosted by the Dean of Research this week.

Launched in 2020, the Research Excellence Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of researchers and those who support research in Trinity.

The awards are aligned to the seven core principles of Trinity’s Research Charter which sets out a vision to engage in research with the quality, intensity, depth, diversity, and openness that leads to fundamental breakthroughs, new understandings, key insights, and that can make translational and transformative advances. A call out to Trinity staff was made in March to nominate colleagues who best embody the spirit of a specific principle.

Presenting the awards Prof. Sinead Ryan, Dean of Research, said:

“I am delighted to be able to present these Trinity Research Excellence Awards to colleagues from across the university. These awards have been very deliberately designed to celebrate research, researchers, and those who support research, in a way that is more representative of the kind of research culture we want to nurture in Trinity.

“A special element of these awards is that everyone who was shortlisted for an award was nominated by a colleague. Someone took the time to think about the work that their colleagues do, and wanted to acknowledge and celebrate it. I hope everyone who was nominated for an award, not just the lucky few who have been selected to receive one, will feel proud of how their colleagues have recognised the contribution that they make.”

Dr John O'Donoghue and Dr Mairéad Hurley

The winners of this year’s Research Excellence Awards are:

Category  Awardee  School
Cherish academic freedom, diversity of scholarship and pursuit of truth Dr Andrew Gibson Education
Position research at the heart of Trinity Prof. Aileen Douglas English
Position research at the heart of Trinity Prof. Lorraine Leeson and Dr Nina Shiel Charm-EU
Foster and grow research talent Prof. Mathias Senge Chemistry
Harness our collective expertise for the greater good Amy Taggart, Ciarán McEvoy, Camilla Kelly, Chris Keely, Kate Smith, Anthony O'Callaghan (joint award) School of Natural Sciences, Research Development Office, Trinity Innovation
Broaden our local and global impact Dr Erika Piazzoli Education
Engage profoundly with our publics Dr John O'Donoghue Chemistry
Stand up for research Dr Darren Fayne Biochemistry and Immunology
Push the boundaries of knowledge Prof. Vasilis Politis Social Sciences and Philosophy
Prof. Jane Ohlmeyer, Dean of Research Prof. Sinead Ryan & Prof. Aileen Douglas

The awards were first presented in 2020, but no event was held due to Covid restrictions. Some of the recipients of the 2020 awards attended the 2023 awards ceremony. They were:

Category Awardee School
Stand up for research Prof. Jane Ohlmeyer

School of Histories and Humanities

Engage profoundly with our publics Dr Ruth Brennan School of Histories and Humanities
Engage profoundly with our publics  Dr Mairéad Hurley Science Gallery


Media Contact:

Fiona Tyrrell | Media Relations | tyrrellf@tcd.ie | +353 1 896 3551