Trinity announces new Scholars and Fellows

Posted on: 29 April 2019

Trinity celebrated the announcement of new Fellows and Scholars in Front Square today. Staff and students, friends and families gathered to celebrate the academic achievement of students and academics who have been elected Scholars and Fellows.

Fifty-eight Scholars, fifteen new Fellows, five new professorial Fellows and two Honorary Fellows were announced.

Left to right: Temilade Adefeko, 2018 Scholar, and Fridaous Karimu, 2019 Scholar in Children's and General Nursing.

The Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast read out the names of each of the Scholars and Fellows to great applause from class mates and colleagues. The announcement marked the beginning of the annual Trinity Week.

Congratulating them, Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast said:“This is always a special day for Trinity, celebrating the academic achievement of our new Fellows and Scholars.” 

In order to become a Scholar, second year students study for special exams in January. It is a major achievement where students continue with their usual course work as well as studying independently for these exams. In becoming a Scholar they must demonstrate in-depth knowledge and understanding of their subjects. This year’s Scholars come from a range of disciplines, including Law, Midwifery, Medicine, Philosophy, English Studies among many more.

Left to right: 2019 Scholars in Medicine,Damien Doherty and Jonathan Jeger.

Fifteen new Fellows and five new professorial Fellows were also elected to Fellowship. Excellence in research and scholarship is the primary qualification for Fellowship, along with the professor’s contribution to academic life and teaching in the College.

Additionally, two Honorary Fellows were announced. They were former Chief Justice of Ireland, and Pro-Chancellor of the University, Mrs Justice Susan Denham and Librarian and scholar, Peter Fox who was former College Librarian and archivist at Trinity and also University Librarian at the University of Cambridge.

Left to Right: Proud father, Les Stapleton, and 2019 Scholar in Theoretical Physics, Chantelle Esper.

The announcement of Fellows and Scholars also marks the beginning of the annual Trinity Week, a long established celebration of College life. This year to celebrate Trinity Week the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences explores the theme of Silence.  Events are free and open to the public throughout the week, April 29th– May 3rd, 2019.



Connolly Jennifer Children’s and General Nursing
Karimu Fridaous Children’s and General Nursing
Cistiakovas Jevgenijus Computer Science
Dey Krishanu Computer Science
Mahon Isobel Computer Science
Mulcahy Jake Economic and Social Studies
Crowley Oscar Engineering
Dunne Cormac Engineering
Illesi Eniko Engineering
Scanlon Johnny Engineering
Kelleher Fiachra English Studies
Daly Ronan History and Political Science
Barrett Ruby Law
Boylan Jonathon Law
Maher Kate Law
Van Breda Robert Law
O’Carroll Aoife Law and Business
Masterson Sean Law and French
Synnott Jack Law and Political Science
O’Donoghue Jack Management Science and Information Systems Studies
Devine Daniel Mathematics
Doherty Cillian Mathematics
Clinton Colleen Medicine
Doherty Damien Medicine
Franklin Callum Medicine
Healy O’Connor Holly Medicine
Jeger Jonathan Medicine
Mahmoud Muhammad Medicine
Ó’Conluain Ruán Medicine
O’Farrell Byrne Bronagh Midwifery
Reid Donna Midwifery
Zhang Xiaoli Midwifery
Carolan Julian Nanoscience, Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials
Grajkowski Filip Nanoscience, Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials
Kelly Ben Nanoscience, Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials
Cox Slaney Nursing
Parcon Christine Nursing
Turner Jemima Pharmacy
Persello Camilla Philosophy
Humes Harry Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology
Neville Roisin Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology
Bourke Samuel Physiotherapy
Keegan Robert Physiotherapy
Beckett Katy Science
Gartlan Cillian Science
Hong Minh Amandine Science
Jackson Julia Science
Morris Niamh Science
Esper Chantelle Theoretical Physics
Fortune Mark Theoretical Physics
O’Laoghaire Phelim TSM Philosophy and Russian
Murphy Ciara TSM French and Modern Irish
McCabe Lucy TSM French and Italian
Armstrong Alan TSM English Literature and History
Boyce Ronan TSM Economics and Sociology
Lury Signe TSM Drama Studies and English Literature
Paine Mari TSM Jewish and Islamic Civilisations and Russian
White Niamh World Religions and Theology


Media Contact:

Caoimhe Ni Lochlainn, Head of Library Communications | | +353 1 896 4710