Trinity Sportsmen and Women Honoured with the University Colours

Posted on: 22 April 2010

The annual celebration of Trinity College sporting achievements took place recently when a thanksgiving service for sport was held in the College Chapel followed by Sporting Commons during which Trinity sportsmen and women were awarded with the University Colours.  The Trinity Pink, designed to correspond to the Light Blue of Cambridge and the Dark Blue of Oxford, is awarded on individual merit which is generally assessed in terms of outstanding club performance, representative selection or external achievement.

Pinks were presented to individuals from numerous sports clubs within College including basketball, fencing, swimming and rugby.   Speaking about the celebration, Honorary Chairman of Dublin University Central Athletic Club (DUCAC), Professor Cyril Smyth said: “For the award of a Pink, sportsmen and sportswomen have to meet very stringent criteria across all sports clubs. These individual athletes have brought honour to Trinity at national and international levels in achieving this status among their peers.”

Trinity sportsmen and women, past and present, gather for the annual thanksgiving service for sport.

Former WBA Super Bantamweight champion (2009) Bernard Dunne was also honoured on the night for his competitiveness in world boxing and his support of sports at Trinity College.  Bernard was a student in Trinity College in 1999/2000 where he took a course in ‘Maximising Performance and Monitoring for Training in Sport’ in the Anatomy Department.  He received a Trinity Sports Scholarship that year and boxed for the DU Boxing Club.

A total of 15 Trinity Pinks were awarded to sportsmen and women from various clubs including Sarah McGrath (Basketball), Alexander Floyd (Boat), Nicola Fitzgibbon (Equestrian), Anthony Byrne (Equestrian), Zoe McElligott (Equestrian), Louis Arron (Fencing), Maria Treacy (Fencing), Donal Mulligan (Fencing), Scott La Valla (Rugby), James Gethings (Rugby), Sean O’Reilly (Waterpolo), Gillian Gavaghan (Swimming), Sharon Coady (Swimming), Tim Downing (Triathlon) and David Misstear (Ultimate Frisbee). 

DUCAC is the governing body for 49 sports clubs at the University.  More information on the various clubs and how to join can be found online.