Trinity Researchers Secure €4.7m SFI Investment in Scientific Research

Posted on: 29 April 2015

The Minister for Skills, Research and Innovation, Damien English TD has announced funding for five Trinity College Dublin researchers through Science Foundation Ireland’s Investigators Programme. Trinity secured €4.7 million for five major research projects out of 23 awards.

The SFI Investigator Programme aims to generate impact for Ireland, both societal and economic, through supporting world-class scientific research. The Programme will provide €30 million in funding over a four to five year period, for 23 research projects in key priority areas for Ireland involving over 100 researchers.

The process for selection involved competitive peer review by 400 international scientists across a number of thematic areas of national and international importance. The call received a high application rate, with 131 proposals reviewed.

Speaking at the announcement, Minister English said: “This funding provides assistance to individual researchers to advance their investigations and address key research questions in sectors such as energy, medicine, food and nutrition, technology and agriculture. It allows researchers to further their careers and build partnerships with leading industry partners who also benefit from access to some of the leading academic talents on this island. The Investigators Programme is an important contributor to Ireland’s credentials as a research leader in a number of sectors”.

The Trinity College Dublin recipients of the SFI Investigators Programme are:

Professor Anne-Marie Healy, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Development of Fixed Dose Combination Products using Advanced Pharmaceutical Processing Technologies

Professor Seamus Martin, School of Genetics and Microbiology  

Pro-inflammatory ‘Cytokine fingerprinting’ for the stratification of Psoriasis patients for cytokine-targeted biologic therapy

Professor Michael Rowan, School of Medicine and TCIN

Alzheimer’s disease patient-derived synaptic plasticity-disrupting soluble protein assemblies

Dr Marco Ruffini, School of Computer Science and Statistics and CTVR

O’SHARE: An open-access SDN-driven architecture enabling multi-operator and multi-service convergence in shared optical access networks

Professor Stefano Sanvito, School of Physics and CRANN

Atomistic simulators for magnetic memories design: MMDesign

Pictured at the announcement that over €30 million of research funding has been awarded to 23 major research projects are Professor Anne-Marie Healy, TCD; Professor Mark Ferguson, Director General of Science Foundation Ireland and Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government of Ireland; Minister for Skills, Research and Innovation, Damien English TD; and Professor Richard O'Kennedy, DCU.