Trinity names 2022/23 Sports Scholars

Posted on: 03 November 2022

Trinity College Dublin has unveiled its Sport Scholarship students for 2022/23. Student athletes from a wide variety of sports, including rugby, basketball, GAA, rowing, hockey, and cricket are featured in this year’s programme.

Trinity names 2022/23 Sports Scholars

Among those on the high-performance pathway are:

    Ireland Senior International Hockey Player and World Cup silver medalist - Katie Mullan
    Ireland Senior International and Leinster rugby players – Ryan Baird and Joe McCarthy
    Ireland Senior International and Ulster rugby player - Kathryn Dane 
    Irish Senior 7’s and 15’s player - Meabh Deely
    Irish Senior Cricket players – Rebecca Stokell and Leah Paul
    Irish Senior Basketball Internationals – Dayna Finn and Sarah Kenny
    Irish Senior Volleyball players - Lara McNichols and Grace Maloney

Harry Sheridan, Gavin Hoey and Sadhbh Doyle receive this year’s Trevor West Scholarship which is awarded to exceptional athletes who have shown outstanding contribution to sport at Trinity and within their respective sport clubs. Niamh Kenny and Giulia Anderlini receive the K.O. Lee basketball scholarship in association with Trinity Meteors. The scholarship was created in memory of Trinity alumnus K.O Lee who coached the Meteors Ladies Basketball team at Trinity and contributed to the team’s success in the 1970s.

Matthew Dossett, Deputy Director of Sport and Physical Activity, Trinity College Dublin commented: “We’re delighted to announce a very strong calibre of scholars for 2022 / ‘23. With eleven sports represented and a diverse range of internationally recognised and developing athletes.”

He continued, “The ever-improving standards of the support structure available to our highest performing athletes and teams in Trinity has enabled a continued growth in applications. Improving our capability to attract and support talented athletes is a key objective for Trinity Sport, and this continual process will ensure that Trinity remains a strong destination of choice for the very best student athletes both domestically and internationally. I’d like to congratulate this year’s scholars and wish everyone the very best of sporting and academic success for the season ahead.” 

Among the benefits on offer to scholars are specialised strength and conditioning training, a dedicated medical care pathway, lifestyle, nutritional and financial support. An event to celebrate this year’s scholars will be held on Monday, 21st November. During the event Trinity Sport student athletes will take part in a panel discussion on ‘Dual career: Combining sports and studies.’

Trinity College Dublin Sport Scholars 2022 / 23:
Anna Jones – Gaelic Football
Conall Henchy – Rugby
Cuileann Bourke – GAA Handball
Dayna Finn – Basketball
Erin McIlwaine – Sailing
Grace Moloney – Volleyball
Isobel Radford-Dodd – Modern Pentathlon and Fencing
Joseph McCarthy – Rugby
Katie Mullan – Hockey
Kathryn Dane - Rugby
Lara McNichols – Volleyball
Laura Noble – Hockey
Leah Paul – Cricket
Lee Pearson – Gaelic Football
Lisa Blaney – Basketball
Meabh Deely – Rugby
Paddy McCarthy – Rugby
Rebecca Stokell – Cricket
Rory Brickenden – Gaelic Football
Ryan Baird – Rugby
Sam Hickmott – Hockey
Sarah Kenny – Basketball

K.O Lee Scholarship 2022 / 23:
Giulia Anderlini - Basketball
Niamh Kenny – Basketball

Trevor West Scholars 2022 / 23:
Gavin Hoey – Cricket
Harry Sheridan – Rugby
Sadhbh Doyle – Soccer

Club academy Scholars 2022 / 23:
Alex Devitt – Basketball
Darragh Timmons – Basketball
Ronan Brennan – Rowing
Tiarnan McKnight – Rowing
Tom Stevens – Rowing
Ronan Quinn – Rugby
Louis O’Reilly – Rugby
Aaran Coleman – Rugby
Thomas Connolly – Rugby
Gavin Jones – Rugby
Anthony Ryan – Rugby
Cormac King – Rugby
Dylan Ryan – Rugby
Diarmuid McCormack – Rugby
Peter Maher – Rugby
John Francis Campbell – Rugby
Callum O'Reilly – Rugby
Max Dunne – Rugby
Jonathan Ross – Rugby
Liam Nolan – Rugby
Dave Walsh – Rugby
Hugh O'Kennedy – Rugby
Sam Berman – Rugby
Zach Quirke – Rugby
Matt Victory – Rugby
David Colbert – Rugby
Aran Egan – Rugby
Ruadhan Byron – Rugby
Marcus Kiely – Rugby

Media Contact:

Catherine O’Mahony | Media Relations |