Trinity celebrates its 2020 Scholars and Fellows

Posted on: 20 April 2020

Trinity College Dublin is delighted to announce a new cohort of Fellows and Scholars today, on Trinity Monday.

Staff, students, friends and families are unable to celebrate on campus this year due to COVID-19 restrictions and yet all are united in their appreciation for the exceptional achievements of the students and academics who have been elected Scholars and Fellows.

Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast stood, in line with tradition, on the steps of the Examination Hall in Front Square to read out the names of the Scholars and Fellows.

Dr Patrick Prendergast said:

“We are extremely proud of the hard work and impressive achievements of all the students and academics who have been named Scholars and Fellows. We are very sorry that circumstances mean they cannot be here in person for this special occasion but we offer them our warmest congratulations nonetheless.” 

In total, 57 new Scholars, 14 new Fellows, five new Professorial Fellows and three Honorary Fellows were announced (see details below) across a range of disciplines.

Fellowships are awarded to those showing excellence in research and scholarship and to acknowledge a professor’s contribution to academic life and teaching in the College.

Becoming a Trinity Scholar is a major achievement for which second year students must perform exceptionally well in exams held in January, showing deep knowledge of their subjects. The students continue with their usual course work as well as studying independently for these exams.

This year’s Scholars come from a range of disciplines, from Law to Medicine, Nursing, English Literature and many more.

Additionally, three Honorary Fellows were announced. The first is the distinguished astrophysicist Dame Susan Jocelyn Bell Burnell, who discovered pulsars in 1967 while still a graduate student, and who has been a champion of women in science and played an important part in drawing up the Athena SWAN Charter and Project Juno at the Institute of Physics.

Fellowship has also been awarded to Professor John Fitzgerald, Research Affiliate at the ESRI, Trinity Adjunct Professor and Chair of the Climate Change Advisory Council to the Government. Professor Fitzgerald has produced a prodigious array of publications over a long research career. He was admitted as a member of the Royal Irish Academy in 2011 in recognition of his work on the Irish economy.

An Honorary Fellowship is also awarded to Mr Neil Mendoza, Provost at Oriel College Oxford, who co-founded Forward Publishing with William Sieghart in 1986 and whose other roles include Chairman of the Landmark Trust.  It is tradition for Trinity to offer Honorary Fellowship to the Provost of Oriel College Oxford. 

The list of Fellows and Scholars is as follows:


Dr Conor Buckley, School of Engineering

Dr Brian Caulfield, School of Engineering

Professor Catherine Comiskey, School of Nursing and Midwifery

Dr Sarah Doyle, School of Medicine

Dr Na Fu, School of Business

Dr Giuseppe Mazziotti, School of Law

Dr Aidan McDonald, School of Chemistry

Dr Rachel McDonnell, School of Computer Science and Statistics

Dr Tim Persoons, School of Engineering

Dr Helen Sheridan, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science

Dr Plamen Stanislavov, Stamenov School of Physics

Dr Lidia Tajber, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science

Dr Etain Tannam, School of Religion

Dr Robert Whelan, School of Psychology


Professorial Fellows

Professor Ruth Mazo Karras, Lecky Professor of History (1913)

Professor Andrew Murphy, Professor of English Literature (1867)

Professor Joseph Keane, Professor of Medicine (1955) and Head of Clinical Medicine (St James’s Hospital)

Professor Ahuvia Kahane, Regius Chair of Greek (1761)

A.G. Leventis, Professor of Greek Culture (2017)



Horgan, Oisín, Bachelor in Global Business

Ankner-Edelstein, Beaven, Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Barrett, Roísín, Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Cook, Jane, Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Leon, Conor, Biological and Biomedical Sciences

O’Sullivan, Fionn, Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Corcoran, Rhianna, Children’s and General Nursing

Dalton, Monica, Children’s and General Nursing

McGee, Ellen, Children’s and General Nursing

MacNulty, Michael, Classics

Burke, John, Computer Science

Howard, Matthew, Computer Science

Nugent, David, Computer Science

Ogórek, Adam, Computer Science

Hussein, Ahmed, Dental Science

Dunne, Ronan, Economic and Social Studies

Murphy, Grace, Economic and Social Studies

Murphy, Emmet, Engineering

Ó Comáin, Liam, Engineering

Vergeylen, Linde, English Studies

Payling, Rebecca, Geography and Geoscience

Campbell, Beatrice, Law

Conlon, Benjamin, Law

Jackson, Eoin, Law

O’Leary, Rachel, Law

O’Shea, Matthew, Law and Business

Flattery, Saoirse, Law and French

Oudart, Emilie, Law and Political Science

O’Callaghan, Michael, Management Science and Information Systems Studies

Scanlon, Caoimhín, Mathematics

Buttle, Yvonne, Medicine

Fouda, Basem, Medicine

Joy, Angela, Medicine

Laffey, Matthew, Medicine

Mariga, Liam, Medicine

Marzoug O’Brien, Iyad, Medicine

O’Connor, Oisin, Medicine

O’Dowd, Darragh, Medicine

White, Katherine, Medicine

Muodebe, Chidera, Nursing

Prendergast, Jessica, Nursing

Sanfey, Rebecca, Nursing

Bonham Corcoran, Meabh, Occupational Therapy

Solovyeva, Alexandra, Occupational Therapy

Ó Tiarnaigh, Kealan, Pharmacy

O’Donnell, James, Philosophy

McHugh, Ellen ,Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology

McCarthy, Tom, Physical Sciences

Vaughan, Lorraine, Social Studies

Banks, Grace, TSM English Literature and Philosophy

Bradley, Anthony, TSM English Literature and Modern Irish

De Burca, Aoibhe, TSM French and Psychology

Foley Rooney, Aisling, TSM Classical Civilisation and History

Klatt, Louisa, TSM Jewish and Islamic Civilisations and Psychology

Morgan-Busher, Claire, TSM Ancient History and Archaeology and Latin

Ryan, Roísín, TSM English Literature and History

Vives Lynch, Daniel, TSM History and Music

Media Contact:

Catherine O’Mahony, Media Relations Officer | |