Trinity celebrates 2022 Scholars and Fellows

Posted on: 25 April 2022

A new cohort of Trinity College Dublin Fellows and Scholars was announced today, on Trinity Monday. 

The ceremony marked the first time in three years that these honours have been delivered in person.  

Provost Dr Linda Doyle stood, in line with tradition, on the steps of the Public Theatre in Front Square to read out the names of the Scholars and Fellows. 

Dr Linda Doyle said:

“On behalf of the Trinity community, I want to congratulate all the students and staff who have been named Scholars and Fellows today. We know how much hard work has gone into achieving this and we commend you for it.  

We are proud of everyone who put their names forward for Fellowship, and everyone who sat the demanding Scholarship exams. 

Tá comhghairdeas tuillte ag gach duine.” 


Provost Linda Doyle reads out the names of new Fellows and Scholars on the steps of the Public Theatre (picture by Paul Sharp)

In total, 51 new Scholars, 31 new Fellows, five new Professorial Fellows and two Honorary Fellows were announced (see details below and here) across a range of disciplines. 

Fellowships are awarded to those showing excellence in research and scholarship and to acknowledge a professor’s contribution to academic life and teaching in the College. 

Becoming a Trinity Scholar is a major achievement for which second year students must perform exceptionally well in exams held in January, showing deep knowledge of their subjects. The students continue with their usual course work as well as studying independently for these exams. 


Scholars of Drama and Theatre Studies Erica Smith and Aoife Cronin


This year’s Scholars come from a broad range of disciplines, including Nursing, Drama, Engineering, Law and more. Each Scholar is entitled to a range of benefits, including free accommodation on campus. 

Additionally, two Honorary Fellows were announced. 

The first is the internationally renowned author, Sebastian Barry. A Trinity graduate, he read English and Latin from 1973 to 1977, and served as Writer Fellow in 1995-6. He began his career writing fiction and poetry, but it was as a dramatist that he first came to prominence with a series of plays, mostly staged at the Abbey Theatre. It is for his novels that he is now best known. The Secret Scripture (2008), shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, won the James Black Tait Memorial Prize in 2009, and in its French translation the Cezam Prix Littéraire CE in 2010.  


Sebastian Barry, one of two 2022 Honorary Fellows

The second is Máirín Nic Eoin, a world-leading scholar of modern Irish language literature. Professor Emerita of Irish in DCU (Dublin City University), she is the author of many seminally important works, including three monographs which are milestones in modern Irish literary criticism (An litríocht réigiúnach 1982, B’ait leo bean 1998, Trén bhfearann breac 2005), and editor of many volumes of conference proceedings and of the works of several modern Irish poets and writers. 

A full list of 2022 Scholars and Fellows: 


Professorial Fellows 

Professor Andrew Davies, Professor of Palliative Medicine  

Professor John Dong, Professor of Business Analytics  

Professor Daniel Kilper, Professor of Future Communication Networks  

Professor Noel McCarthy, Professor of Population Health Medicine 

Professor John Divers, Professor of Moral Philosophy  



Professor Edna Francis Roche, School of Medicine  

Professor Joan Lalor, School of Nursing & Midwifery  

Professor David Hevey, School of Psychology 

Professor Thomas Chadefaux, School of Social Sciences & Philosophy 

Professor Clodagh Brook, School of Languages, Literatures & Cultural Studies  

Dr Margaret Walshe, School of Linguistic, Speech & Communication Sciences  

Dr Stephanie Holt, School of Social Work & Social Policy 

Dr Rachel Moss, School of Histories & Humanities  

Dr Fiona Wilson, School of Medicine  

Dr Paul Eastham, School of Physics  

Dr Aisling Dunne, School of Biochemistry and Immunology 

Dr Jan Manschot, School of Mathematics  

Dr Nicola Marchetti, School of Engineering  

Dr Nessa O’Connor, School of Natural Sciences  

Dr Tomás Ryan, School of Biochemistry & Immunology  

Dr Emma Creagh, School of Biochemistry & Immunology  

Dr Roja Fazaeli, School of Languages, Literatures & Cultural Studies  

Dr John Goold, School of Physics  

Dr Patrick Walsh, School of Medicine  

Dr Daniela Tropea, School of Medicine  

Dr Hitesh Tewari, School of Computer Sciences & Statistics  

Dr Ashley Clements, School of Histories and Humanities  

Dr Ivana Dusparic, School of Computer Science & Statistics  

Dr Cian O’Callaghan, School of Natural Sciences  

Dr Rachael Walsh, School of Law  

Dr David O’Regan, School of Physics  

Dr Joseph Roche, School of Education  

Dr Max Garcia Melchor, School of Chemistry  

Dr Juan Diego Rodriguez-Blanco, School of Natural Sciences  

Dr Jan Skopek, School of Social Sciences & Philosophy  

Dr Gizem Arikan, School of Social Sciences & Philosophy  



O’Neill, Eimhin, Bachelor in Global Business 

Fathima, Hamna, Biological and Biomedical Sciences 

Flynn, Ciaran, Biological and Biomedical Sciences 

Murphy, Bríd, Biological and Biomedical Sciences 

Alpuerto, Justine, Children’s and General Nursing 

Kent, Hannah, Children’s and General Nursing 

Wadullah, Rola, Children’s and General Nursing 

Taylor, Jamie, Computer Science 

Gogna, Kumud, Dental Science 

McCormick, Martin, Dental Science 

Cronin, Aoife, Drama and Theatre Studies 

Smith, Erica, Drama and Theatre Studies 

Bowler, Conor, Engineering 

Manning, Eoghan, Engineering 

McHugh, Nollaig, Engineering 

Pstrusi?ski, Jakub, Engineering 

Dunne, Esme, English Studies 

Ní Fhearraigh-Joyce, Brídín, English Studies 

Mangum, Lehmann, Olivia Geography and Geoscience 

Stanciu, Sinziana, History 

Wolfe, David, History and Political Science 

Kelly, Lisa, Human Nutrition and Dietetics (Joint Degree) 

Cunningham, Andrew, Law 

Harkin, Niamh, Law 

McGrane, Mark, Law 

Polson, Kathryn, Law 

Purewal, Aoife, Law 

Cox, Amy, Law and Political Science 

Stenson, Fiona, Law and Political Science 

Murphy, James, Mathematics 

Connolly, Archie, Medicine 

Cormican, Marie, Medicine 

Crossen, Frank, Medicine 

Murchan, Eleanor, Medicine 

Murray, Christopher, Medicine 

Trimmer, Siobhan, Medicine 

O’Dowd, Catherina, Midwifery 

Loro, Alessandro, Music 

Campbell, Devon, Nursing 

Cooling Reid, Katherine, Nursing 

Dawson, Catherine, Nursing 

Muldowney, Rachel, Nursing 

Brennan, Billy, Pharmacy 

Carroll, Molly Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology 

Coady, Rían Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology 

Wolfe, Francis Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology 

Kerin, Leon Physical Sciences 

Cheung, Yun Sang, Physiotherapy 

Crossen, Robert, Psychology 

Wu, Yueying, Theoretical Physics 

Kehoe, Grace, Joint Honours 




Media Contact:

Catherine O’Mahony, Media Relations Officer | |