Trinity Business Student of the Year 2017

Posted on: 15 May 2017

Business and Law student Benn Hogan has been announced as the winner of the 2017 Trinity Business Student of the Year for his outstanding academic achievements and contribution to University life. The ceremony was held in the beautiful House of Lords, Bank of Ireland on College Green on Thursday, 6th April. Benn was presented with the gold medal by the Bursar, Veronica Campbell (on behalf of the Provost), Richie Boucher and Wendy Hederman, incoming President of the Trinity Business Alumni.
Benn is passionate about the Irish language. He was this year’s Director of Jailbreak 2017, a charity event founded in Trinity five years ago but now running out of eight institutions in Ireland. This year the event was transformed from not only focusing on charity but with the help of An Cumann Gaelach it became a language activism event too. Ben also contributed to campus life as Chairperson of the Central Societies Committee, the Trinity body charged with regulating, supporting and funding Trinity societies.
The competition, open to final year business students, is sponsored by Bank of Ireland in conjunction with the Trinity Business Alumni. Six students from Trinity Business School were short listed for the award alongside Benn. The high calibre of students made the selection difficult for the judging panel. The runner ups included Éire Smith, Conor Hughes, Eleanor O’Brien, PJ McGrane and Laura Brennan. Presenting the awards Wendy Hederman, the incoming President of the Trinity Business Alumni, remarked on the quality of the candidates and the value that their contributions have made to the Trinity community.
Commenting after the award, Director of Undergraduate Teaching at Trinity Business School, Professor Louis Brennan said: “The Trinity Business Student of the Year Award showcases the outstanding achievements of our graduating students. Congratulations to Benn Hogan on winning the award and to all the finalists and nominees for their superb record of achievement.”

Media Contact:

Aoife Ni Mhaolain, Former Executive Officer | | +353 1 896 4168