Trinity Awards 23 Sport Scholarships for 2007/08

Posted on: 19 December 2007

A total of 23 Trinity Sports Scholarships in 14 different sports were awarded for the academic year 2007/2008. The scholarships were presented by the Dean of Students and Associate Professor of Law, Prof Gerry Whyte, at a reception in the Pavilion Bar, College Park on 4th December, 2007.

The successful sport scholars benefit from a number of excellent services available to them in order to maximise their performance during their studies at Trinity College .  These include excellent training facilities and expertise at the College’s new sports centre and its staff, a financial award of €1,000 and access to the College’s specialised Human Performance Laboratory.

The Trinity College sports scholarship programme has been running for 15 years with thanks to sponsors Diageo, the Knights of the Campanile and the proceeds from the annual Trinity Golf Classic.  Those awarded Sports Scholarships for 2007/08 include:

Tim Harnedy of the Boat Club, was a member of the Irish Olympic four squad in Athens and a silver medalist at world championships and hopes to win a medal in the lightweight 4 at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Claudine Murphy of the Sailing Club, who came 3rd in this year’s Irish Ulster Championships, and rated 106th in the International Sailing Federation world rankings, has been selected for the ISA Irish Development Squad for 2008.

Tuathal MacColgain also of the Sailing Club competed with Irish Olympic Team in International Sailing Federation World Championships in Portugal in July 2007 and he hopes to win a gold medal in Weymouth in the London Olympics in 2012.

Mark Donnelly, a National badminton champion at U13, U15, U17 and U19, was in the final of European junior event this year and is currently on the U23 team and senior panel. His ambition is to get an Olympic qualification.

Other recipients of 2007/8 Trinity Sports Scholarships are:

Mark Kirwan – Athletics, Joe Calnan – Boat Club, Eoghan Delany – Cricket,  Harry Murphy and John Iliffe – Rugby, Eoin Fanning and Ross Traynor – Gaelic Football,  Daniel Moriarty – Soccer,  Patricia Burns – Squash,  Enrico Perla – Volleyball, Barry Glavey, Maebh Horan, Craig Moore, Caroline Murphy, Ciara Murphy – Hockey, John O’Malley – Hurling, Niamh O’Boyle – Orienteering, Ciaran Costello – Soccer, Kellie O’Flynn – Tennis. Students Owen Coyle and Alan McAndrew were awarded the Cadbury Gaelic Football Scholarships.