Trinity announces new Sport Scholars for 2020/21

Posted on: 29 October 2020

Trinity College Dublin today unveiled its Sport Scholarship students for 2020/21. Student athletes from a wide variety of sports, including rugby, basketball, GAA, rowing, athletics, hockey and cricket are featured in this year’s programme.

Among those on the high-performance pathway are:

· Tokyo 2021 Paralympics Rowing athlete (USA) – John Tanguay

· Leinster rugby players – Ryan Baird, Jack Dunne and Liam Turner

· Ireland U-20 players – Joseph McCarthy, Luis Faria and Thomas Clarkson

· Ulster and Ireland international rugby player Kathryn Dane

· Irish Senior 7’s players Meabh Deely and Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird

· Irish Senior Cricket players – Rebecca Stokell, Leah Paul and Rachel Delaney

· Ireland Senior basketball player Edel Thornton

Phoebe Sterba and Megan Swords were selected as part of the Global Graduate Sport Scholarship which is supported by Trinity Business School. This scholarship is for international students who are completing a postgraduate course at Trinity.

Niamh Kenny and Sarah Kenny are the first recipients of the inaugural Kao Lee Basketball Scholarship in partnership with Trinity Meteors. The scholarship was created in memory of Trinity alumnus Kao Lee who coached the Meteors Ladies Basketball team at Trinity and contributed to the team’s success in the 1970s.

Thomas Stevens, Conall Hayes and Caron Ryan receive this year’s Trevor West Scholarship. The Trevor West Scholarship is awarded to exceptional athletes who have shown outstanding contribution to sport at Trinity and engagement within their sport clubs.

Matthew Dossett, Deputy Head of Sport and Recreation commented:

We’re delighted to announce a very strong calibre of scholars for 2020/21. With 13 sports represented and a diverse range of developing and internationally recognised athletes, this is among our strongest list of recipients yet. Under the current circumstances which are hugely challenging to athletes, the ever-improving standards of the support structure available to our highest performing athletes and teams in Trinity has enabled a continued growth in applications. Improving our capability to attract and support talented athletes is a key objective for Trinity Sport, and this continual process will ensure that Trinity remains a strong destination of choice for the very best student athletes domestically and internationally. I’d like to congratulate this year’s scholars and wish everyone the very best of sporting and academic success for the season ahead.

Among the benefits on offer to scholars are specialised strength and conditioning training, a dedicated medical care pathway, lifestyle, nutritional and financial support. An event to celebrate this year’s scholars will be held virtually on Thursday, 12th November 2020. During the event Trinity Sport ambassadors Nicole Owens, Ed Joyce and Trinity alumni Linda Djougang will be taking part in a panel discussion on the theme of ‘the emergence of sport from Covid-19’.

Trinity College Dublin Sport Scholars 2020/21:

Kate Doherty – Athletics

Matthew Behan – Athletics

Phoebe Sterba – Basketball (Global Graduate Scholarship)

Megan Swords – Basketball (Global Graduate Scholarship)

Edel Thornton – Basketball

Niamh Kenny – Basketball (Kao Lee Basketball Scholarship)

Sarah Kenny – Basketball (Kao Lee Basketball Scholarship)

Laura Stack – Camogie

Rebecca Stokell – Cricket

Leah Paul – Cricket

Rachel Delaney – Cricket

Erica Markey – Hockey

Laura Noble – Hockey

Iseult Cambey – Hockey

Anna Jones – Ladies Gaelic Football

Cliodhna Ni She – Ladies Gaelic Football

John Tanguay – Rowing

Ryan Baird – Rugby

Jack Dunne – Rugby

Liam Turner – Rugby

Thomas Clarkson – Rugby

Luis Faria – Rugby

Kathryn Dane – Rugby

Joseph McCarthy – Rugby

Meabh Deely – Rugby

Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird – Rugby

Sadhbh Doyle – Soccer

Aisling Keller – Sailing

Anastasiya Bogoslovska – Badminton

Thomas Stevens – Rowing (Trevor West Scholarship)

Conall Hayes – Athletics (Trevor West Scholarship)

Caron Ryan – Athletics (Trevor West Scholarship)

Cuileann Bourke – GAA Handball

Luke Corcoran – Hurling

Club academy scholar 2020/21:

Ronan Brennan – Rowing



Media Contact:

Catherine O’Mahony, Media Relations Officer | |