Tom Clonan is elected new Trinity Senator

Posted on: 31 March 2022

Tom Clonan has been elected in the 2022 Seanad bye-election to represent the University of Dublin (Trinity College Dublin) constituency.

Tom Clonan will join current Trinity Senators David Norris and Lynn Ruane in Seanad Éireann.

He will be the 27th Senator to represent the University since 1938.

Provost Linda Doyle with the count team for the 2022 Seanad bye-election

The valid poll was 13,418, representing a turnout of 19.8%.

The quota was 6,710.

Votes are counted in Trinity’s Public Theatre (March 2022) – Paul Sharp

Tom Clonan received 14.5% of first preference votes and was elected on the 16th count with 5,358 votes.

The bye-election was held to replace Ivana Bacik as Senator after her election to the Dail last year. The election saw registered Trinity graduates choose between 17 candidates. For the first time, most of the candidates were women.

Returning Officer and Provost of Trinity College Linda Doyle said:

I would like to congratulate Tom Clonan on his election to represent Trinity in Seanad Éireann. He will be following in the footsteps of some of Ireland’s most renowned and accomplished public representatives. We look forward to working with Tom and the positive contributions he will make in the Seanad.


Media Contact:

Catherine O’Mahony, Media Relations Officer | |