Tim Cook Receives Trinity’s Philosophical Society’s Gold Medal

Tim Cook, CEO of Apple Inc became an Honorary Patron of the University Philosophical Society (The Phil) today. He delivered a talk to a full capacity student audience in the Public Theatre which was followed by a lively Q&A session chaired by Ludivine Rebet, President of the University Philosophical Society.  

In his engaging address, Tim spoke about a variety of issues, ranging from the importance of education to how diversity in the work place is key, noting his belief that the “best companies of the future will be diverse”.  He advised the students to “know what your north star is and stick true to it every day”. He spoke about LGBT issues and how “it is important to embrace different cultures”.

Speaking about his company, he said that Apple will always be proud to call Ireland home. He spoke about the future of Apple products and the impact new medical devices will have on society. Apple are big believers that education can level the playing field, according to Tim.

Tim Cook takes a 'selfie' with Trinity Students

Tim’s visit to Trinity College Dublin started with a meeting with the Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast and tour of the Old Library escorted by Librarian and College Archivist, Helen Shenton, Ludivine Rebet, President, University Philosophical Society, Professor Linda Doyle, Director of CONNECT, Centre for Future Networks and Communications, and Professor Vinny Wade, Director of ADAPT. He was shown the 9th century Book of Kells, the ‘Brian Boru Harp’, Ireland's oldest harp dating from the 15th century; and one of the few remaining copies of the 1916 Proclamation of the Irish Republic among other treasures.

President of the University Philosophical Society, Ludivine Rebet in conversation with Tim Cook

In receiving the Gold Medal, Tim joins a distinguished list of University Philosophical Society Honorary Patrons including US Supreme Court Justice, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, British Entertainer Stephen Fry, US Democratic Party Leader, Nancy Pelosi, Evolutionary Biologist, Richard Dawkins, Journalist and Food Critic, A.A. Gill, and more recently former Children’s Laureate, Siobhan Parkinson,  European Ombudsman, Emily O'Reilly and journalist Jon Snow.