Students’ Sports Success

Posted on: 15 July 2016

Trinity Sports clubs had wonderful successes representing the University at numerous nationals and international competitions in 2015/16. The Mens 1st Rugby team capped off a memorable season by winning promotion to Division 1A, the top tier of Irish club rugby. This was after competing against universities from across the world at the start of the season in the inaugural World University Championships held in London and defeating local rivals UCD in the annual colours match. The Camogie club won Cup honours by winning the All Ireland Fr. Meagher Championship, with the Gaelic Football fresher’s following suit by winning the Division 2 All Ireland title.

The Boat club had a very successful season with the Men’s Senior 8 going undefeated on Irish water winning 5 regattas, University Championships and Irish National Championships. The Ladies Senior won 3 regattas and the Senior 4’s won the National Championships.

The Squash team won the Leinster League Division 1; the Men’s Hockey 1st’s won Division 1B with the Ladies Hockey 1st‘s qualifying for the promotion playoffs to the newly formed IHA National League. All of these successes occurred outside of the normal Third Level competitions for students only.

The Snow Sports club successfully organised the inaugural Leinster Universities & Colleges league in which Trinity, UCD, DCU, DIT and Maynooth competed. Other notable successes at intervarsity competitions were recorded by Trinity sports clubs including Tennis, Ultimate Frisbee, Snow Sports, Fencing, Sub Aqua, Squash, Trampoline, Rifle, Boxing and Volleyball.

A number of students competed internationally representing the University at varying sports. These included Anna-May Whelan (Hockey), Jenny Andreasson (Sailing), Scott Flannigan (Sailing), Ayman Ben Mohamad (Soccer), Rachel Taylor (Golf), Nicholas Armstrong (Golf), and Lisa McKenna and Ciara Mahon (Handball).

The third annual Sports Awards in April showcased the achievements the clubs had throughout the year, as well as acknowleding the commitment and dedication students have for their clubs in the voluntary work they undertake. Hosted by RTÉ; sports reporter Evanne Ní Chuilinn, who conducted a live interview with special guest Sonia O’Sullivan, the following awards were presented:

  • Club Administrator of the Year: Roisin Greening (Trampoline Club)
  • Club of the Year: Sub Aqua Club
  • Coach of the Year: Nicholas Dunlop (Boat Club)
  • Team of the Year: DUBC Senior 8 (Boat Club)
  • Sports Person of the Year: Prakash Vijayanath (Squash Club)
  • Contribution to College Sport: Tony Smeeth (Rugby Club)

In addition 21 ‘Pinks’ were presented on the night. Pinks are awarded to college athletes who compete for a university club at both inter-collegiate competitions and international levels.

Sixty sports scholarships were awarded across 13 sports at the 2015/16 awards ceremony. Supported by the Bank of Ireland, the recipients included Commonwealth Games athletes Victoria Mullin (Air Pistol) and Prakash Vijayanath (Badminton); 4th year Pharmacy student and recently capped Irish Senior Hockey player Anna May Whelan; 3rd Year BESS student Ayman Ben Mohamad who has recently been called up to the Tunisian International soccer team; senior inter county Gaelic footballers Tiaran Daly (Fermanagh) and Michael O’Grady (Kildare); U21 All Ireland Hurling winner and 1st year, Eoghan McNamara; three of the crew who won Trinity’s first Senior IV National title in twelve years, Sally O’Brien, Aoife Leahy and Gillian Crowe; and two students from the Centre for Inclusion and Intellectual Disability, Maeve Phillips, European and World Down Syndrome swimming medallist and Fiachra Costello, minor Gaelic football champion. There were also 30 rugby scholarships awarded on the night which paid dividends with the Rugby 1st team securing promotion to Division 1A and winning the annual Colours match against a strong UCD side.


Keep an eye on sports news on Trinity Sports website or on Facebook and Twitter