Sports scholars announced for 2018-2019

Posted on: 30 October 2018

Trinity Sport, in association with Bank of Ireland, today unveil their Trinity Sport and Club Academy scholars for 2018-2019. Student athletes from a wide variety of sports, including fencing, Paralympic swimming and cricket are featured in this year’s programme.

Among those on the high-performance pathway are:

  • Four Ireland U20 and Leinster rugby players – Jack Kelly, Jack Dunne, Michael Silvester and Ryan Baird. Tighthead prop and Leinster rugby player Linda Djougang.
  • Fencer Anna Lee, who was selected to represent Ireland at both the European and World Championships at U20 earlier this year.
  • Ireland U21s and U23s hockey player Erica Markey.
  • Women’s rower Aoife Corcoran who was part of the senior 8 that won Colours and Trinity Regatta in 2018. Fellow rower Turlough Hughes, who won Irish University Championships in senior 8 this year, is also on the programme.
  • Paralympic swimmer Ailbhe Kelly, currently ranked 5th in the world in the 400m freestyle and 100m backstroke S8 class.

Matthew Dossett, Deputy Head of Sport and Recreation, commented: “We’re delighted to announce a very strong calibre of scholars for 2018/19. With 15 sports represented and a diverse range of developing and internationally recognised athletes, this is among our strongest list of recipients yet.

“As with last year, the ever-improving standards of the support structure available to our highest performing athletes and teams in Trinity has resulted in a significant increase in scholarship applications. Improving our capability to attract and support talented athletes is a key objective within the strategy for sport, and this continual process will ensure that Trinity remains a strong destination of choice for the very best student athletes domestically and internationally.

“I would like to extend sincere thanks to our partners Bank of Ireland. Without their continued support we would not have reached the standard of programme now in place or be able to award as many scholarships as we currently do. This support enables the sports scholarship and wider high performance pathway to cater for over 250 athletes across the entire calendar year. I’d like to congratulate this year’s scholars and teams, and wish everyone the very best of sporting and academic success for the season ahead.”

Bank of Ireland’s Sophie O’Halloran added: “We at Bank of Ireland would like to congratulate the 2018/2019 scholars on this phenomenal achievement. Sport teaches us great life lessons such as learning perseverance, turning failures into gains and that hard work does yield results. Your dedication to your chosen sports is greatly admirable. Bank of Ireland are delighted to support your journey here on campus and we look forward to meeting you and your families throughout the year. We wish you all continued success in achieving your goals.”

Among the benefits on offer to scholars are specialised strength and conditioning training, a dedicated medical care pathway, and financial support.

An event to celebrate this year’s scholars will be held in the Dining Hall on Thursday November 22.

Trinity Sport scholars 2018-2019

Dylan Connolly Association football
Ronan Hanaphy Association football
James Woods Association football
Conall Hayes Athletics
Sorcha McAllister Athletics
Alison Blaney Basketball
Sarah Kenny Basketball
Sam Walsh Basketball
Cameron Smith Basketball
Aoife O’Carroll Camogie
Sanil Gupta Cricket
Max Neville Cricket
Lorcan Tucker Cricket
Anna Lee Fencing
Aoife Gorman Gaelic football
James Guinness Gaelic football
Sean Hawkshaw Gaelic football
Brian Magee Gaelic football
Rachel Burns Hockey
Isabelle Delamer Hockey
Erica Markey Hockey
Luke Corcoran Hurling
Cian O’Sullivan Hurling
Zélie Gallagher Netball
Ailbhe Kelly Paralympic swimming
Aoife Corcoran Rowing
Turlough Hughes Rowing
Ryan Baird Rugby
Jack Dunne Rugby
Linda Djougang Rugby
Jack Kelly Rugby
Michael Silvester Rugby
Sean Donnelly Sailing
Aisling Keller Sailing
Tamaki Marumo Squash
Colm Hogan (rugby) Trevor West
Ciara Mahon (handball) Trevor West


Club Academy scholars 2018-2019

Simone Hobdy Basketball
Rachel Huijsdens Basketball
Rebecca Rabeiro Basketball
Sorcha Tiernan Basketball
Jody Booth Rugby
Rory Clarke Rugby
Thomas Clarkson Rugby
George Downey Rugby
Daryl Egan Rugby
Luis Faria Rugby
James  Fennelly Rugby
Arthur Greene Rugby
James Hickey Rugby
Max Kearney Rugby
Tomas Killeen Rugby
Conor Lowndes Rugby
Matthew Martin Rugby
Michael McGagh Rugby
Johnny McKeown Rugby
Roghan McMahon Rugby
Patrick Nulty Rugby
Paddy Opperman Rugby
Louis O’Reilly Rugby
Rowan Osborne Rugby
Reuben Pim Rugby
Ronan Quinn Rugby
Anthony Ryan Rugby
Liam Turner Rugby
Hugh Twomey Rugby
Bart Vermeulen Rugby

Main photo (L-R): Turlough Hughes (rowing), Anna Lee (fencing), Linda Djougang (rugby), Ronan Hanaphy (association football), Erica Markey (hockey) and Brian Magee (Gaelic football)