Provost’s Trinity Excellence in Teaching Awards

Posted on: 30 June 2021

The Provost’s Trinity Excellence in Teaching Awards was introduced in 2001 and its 20th anniversary was celebrated on 29 June in the Provost’s Garden.

The Awards were presented by Dr Patrick Prendergast to six members of staff in recognition of their enthusiasm and commitment to ensuring students receive quality teaching and learning.  The Awards are Trinity’s principal means of celebrating academic staff who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence in the University and who promote teaching as a scholarly activity.

Trinity’s Provost Dr Patrick Prendergast said,

This Award is particularly special because in the past year teaching and learning have been tested as never before. The pivot to online was immediate. From one day to the next, staff had to manage new technology and work out how to deliver classes remotely, how to assess without conventional exams, and how to continue engaging with students, many of whom were struggling emotionally and academically.

The 2021 award recipients are:

  1. Prof Stephen Barrett, School of Computer Science & Statistics
  2. Prof Annemarie Bennett, School of Medicine
  3. Prof Eric Downer, School of Medicine
  4. Prof Órla Gilheaney, School of Linguistic, Speech & Communication Sciences
  5. Prof Justin King, School of Engineering
  6. Prof Cormac McGuinness, School of Physics


Five staff members who were nominated for the Provost’s Trinity Excellence in Teaching Awards were shortlisted: Prof Andrea Guariso, School of Social Sciences & Philosophy, Prof Liz Heffernan, School of Law, Dr Bahman Honari, School of Computer Science & Statistics, Prof Caroline Jagoe, School of Linguistic, Speech & Language Sciences, Prof Giuseppe Mazziotti, School of Law.

The ceremony didn’t take place last year due to Covid-19 restrictions, but the 2020 winners and those shortlisted were also recognised during the event today.

The 2020 award recipients are:

  1. Dr Ayeshah Émon, School of Social Work & Social Policy
  2. Prof Duana Quigley, School of Linguistic, Speech and Communication Sciences
  3. Prof Julie Regan, School of Linguistic, Speech and Communication Sciences
  4. Prof Martha O’Hagan-Luff, School of Business
  5. Prof Alejandra Ramos, School of Social Sciences & Philosophy


Seven staff members were shortlisted: Prof Peter Harrison, School of Dental Science, Prof Ronan Lyons, School of Social Sciences & Philosophy, Prof Graeme Murdock, School of Histories & Humanities, Prof Cian O’Callaghan, School of Natural Sciences, Prof Daniela Tropea, School of Medicine, Prof Paul Claffey, School of Medicine, Prof Joseph Roche, School of Education.