Provost announces Professional Staff Award winners

Posted on: 16 July 2019

The winners of the Provost’s Professional Staff Awards were announced at a special ceremony celebrating the outstanding contributions by Trinity’s professional staff, including all administrative, technical and support staff, whose hard work, creativity and dedication are a key element in the success of the university.

There was a huge response to the award scheme with over 300 people nominated in 119 submissions, some of which were for teams (a full list can be viewed here). This resulted in over 450 academics, students and professional staff members writing letters of support. The nomination process is rigorous and comprehensive.

Congratulating the recipients warmly at the awards ceremony, the Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast said: “It goes without saying that there would be no Trinity College without our professional and support staff. These awards allow us to capture and promote enhancement initiatives that make a decisive difference to the whole university, but which may not always be known or recognised beyond the local area particular unit or department”.

The Provost explained how our strategic plan states that ‘Trinity’s position as a university of global consequence will only continue to be secured by academic, administrative, and support staff capable of delivering our mission’ and that these awards recognise those who have performed exceptionally to help us deliver our mission.

The 2019 Provost’s Professional Staff Award winners are:

Enhancing the Trinity Experience – presented to an individual or team demonstrating exceptional service and commitment to the university and our visitors

  • Anatomy CTO Donor Programme
  • Anne-Marie Diffley, Library Services
  • Martin McAndrew, Senior Tutor’s Office
  • Martina Mullin, Health Promotion Officer

Individual Leadership – presented to an individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills that have a positive impact on a team

  • Lisa Keane, Trinity Access Programme
  • Aine Wade, School of Medicine

Outstanding Colleague – presented to individuals who deliver outstanding service to the Trinity community

  • Sinead Browne, Provost’s Office
  • Kieran Lewis, Disability Service
  • David Sullivan, Genetics Department


Provost Patrick Prendergast congratulates the 2019 Provost’s Professional Staff Award winners

Media Contact:

Sally-Anne Fisher, Head of Communications | | +353 1 896 3606