Professor Blanaid Clarke named McCann FitzGerald Chair of Corporate Law

Posted on: 28 May 2012

Trinity College Dublin and leading Irish law firm,McCann FitzGerald, announced that Professor Blanaid Clarke has been appointed to the new position of McCann FitzGerald Chair of Corporate Law.

Professor Clarke, who has an internationally recognised track record in the field of corporate law, will lead the development of this field in the Law School and at a national level make a significant contribution to research and policy making. The Law School, known internationally for the depth and diversity of its scholarship, will aim to become a global centre of excellence in corporate law and this appointment will now enable it to offer, among other things, teaching in corporate accountability and regulation, an area of considerable significance in the current environment.

McCann FitzGerald Chairman, John Cronin said: “We are very pleased to see Professor Clarke appointed to this position. This is an opportune time to establish a Chair of Corporate Law given the enormous public demand for better legal regulation of corporate entities, including the banking sector. Blanaid has a strong track record with extensive experience gained through her work with the Takeover Panel, the Central Bank Commission and the European Commission.”

Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast, McCann FitzGerald Chairman, John Cronin and Professor Blanaid Clarke

Commenting on her appointment Professor Clarke said: “I’m honoured to become the first holder of the McCann FitzGerald Chair of Corporate Law. My goal will be to establish the Law School at Trinity College as a leading centre for corporate law research and learning. The financial crisis highlighted inadequacies in many areas of commercial law including corporate law, insolvency law, corporate governance and financial regulation. There is a real need for thought leadership and research which could influence not only the academic community but also be applied to support legal practitioners and to develop public policy.”

Professor Hilary Biehler, head of the Law School, Trinity College Dublin said: “Trinity College Dublin is delighted that Professor Clarke has been appointed to this role.  Professor Clarke has an excellent reputation for her research and scholarship in the field of corporate law. The school is confident that with her exceptional track record, she will play a highly significant role in driving and enhancing the existing work being undertaken within the law school in the area of corporate law.”

About Professor Blanaid Clarke:

Blanaid Clarke joins Trinity from the School of Law at University College Dublin (UCD), where she had been since 1991, most recently as associate professor in law. In addition, she was one of the founding members of the Centre for Corporate Governance at UCD. In October 2010, Blanaid was appointed to the Irish Central Bank Commission by the Minister for Finance. In December 2010, she was invited to participate in a European Commission Expert Group on the future of EU company law.  She is a member of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) Takeover Bids Network. Her research interests include: corporate governance; takeovers & mergers law; securities regulation; financial services law; contract; and company law.

About McCann FitzGerald:

With approximately 450 people, including over 270 lawyers and professional staff, McCann FitzGerald is one of Ireland’s premier law firms. It is consistently recognised as being the market leader in many practice areas and offers a full range of services to corporate, financial, service and industrial companies. McCann FitzGerald’s clients include international organisations, major domestic concerns and emerging Irish companies. It also works with many clients in the state and semi-state sectors.

The School of Law – Trinity:

The School of Law in Trinity College Dublin, established in 1740, is Ireland’s oldest and most internationally renowned law school. Graduates and former members of staff include The Hon. Ms Justice Susan Denham, Chief Justice of Ireland and former Presidents of Ireland, Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese.