President McAleese is Honoured with Lifetime Membership of the Dublin University Law Society on its 75th Anniversary

Posted on: 25 February 2009

President Mary McAleese addressed the Dublin University Law Society on Thursday February 19th last on the occasion of the 75th session of the society. To mark the occasion, President McAleese, a former member of the society was awarded an honorary lifetime membership.

President mary mcaleese with members of the du law society
President Mary McAleese with members of the DU Law Society celebrating the 75th anniversary of the society.

“It was such a privilege to have the President of Ireland and former lecturer at Trinity’s School of Law address the society. This year is of particular note to the Society because we’ve reached a milestone in the society’s history,” stated Auditor of the 75th session Aoibhin O’Hare. “The Law Society has grown to one of the biggest and most prominent College societies with events ranging from hosting distinguished speakers such as Baroness Hale of Richmond and the IV Moot Court competition in Ireland drawing contestants from NUIG, UCC and UCD.”

Founded in 1935, the society has hundreds of members drawn from all departments and areas of the University. Past members include President Mary Robinson, Mrs Justice Susan Denham and Chief Justice of Kenya, Kayode Eso.