Ivana Bacik among recipients of 2006 Trinity College Dublin Provost’s Teaching Awards

Posted on: 02 May 2006

Professor Ivana Bacik, School of Law, is one of four recipients of the 2006 Trinity College Provost’s Teaching Awards, it was announced today. Presented in recognition of staff members’ dedication and commitment to teaching and learning excellence, the other recipients are Ms Katrin Eberbach, Department of Germanic Studies, and Dr Martin Henman, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Both were recognised for their dedication and commitment to teaching and learning excellence, while Ms Inmaculada Arnedillo-Sanchez, School of Computer Science and Statistics, and School of Education, received the Early Career Award for excellence in teaching.

“These Awards are the College’s principal means of celebrating those academic staff which have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence in College and who promotes teaching as a scholarly activity.” stated Dr John Hegarty, Provost of Trinity College Dublin at a ceremony today (2 May).

The candidates are selected through a rigorous process involving their nomination by their students or their peers in college, an examination of their teaching philosophy,  practice and scholarship, an evaluation of their teaching portfolios, and consideration of feedback both from their academic peers and current students.  This process is overseen by members of College’s sub-Committee on Academic Practice which had the difficult task of selecting the winners.

The scheme is sponsored by the Higher Education Authority and funded under the National Development Plan 2000/2006.