Honorary Degrees conferred by Trinity College Dublin

Posted on: 18 December 1998

The University of Dublin (Trinity College) conferred honorary degrees at the Winter Commencements in the College on Friday 18 December 1998.

Those conferred, were

  • Dr. Ian Howie (chairman of St. James’ Hospital for more than 20 years);
  • Mr. Barry McGovern (actor; admired in particular for interpretation of the work of Samuel Beckett);
  • Professor Niall Rudd (distinguished classical scholar);
  • HE Dame Veronica Sutherland (Ambassador of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);
  • Mr Howard Lynn Temple (Donegal Person of the Year in 1998, instrumental in developing Donegal Tweed).