Dublin University Boat Club Crowned National Champions

Posted on: 22 July 2015

Dublin University is officially the fastest crew in the country!

It was a hugely successful 2015 National Championships for both Trinity’s Mens and Ladies Boat clubs, with the Ladies claiming the Inter IV title and the Men taking the Senior VIII win.

Gearoid Mahon, Ian Hurley, John Magan, Michael Corcoran, Patrick Moreau, Mark Kelly, Liam Hawks, David Butler and Cian Flynn (cox)

The Men’s VIII crew saw off strong opposition from UCD and NUI Galway with a winning time of 5:37:45, three seconds ahead of UCD who took second place. It was a great finish to the year for the Men having claimed the Gannon Cup early in the season and a strong performance in Henley earlier this month.

DU ladies Senior IV rowed to victory in the second final of the National Championships after a brave performance which saw off two tough crews from Skibbereen and UCC/Cork Boat Club, bringing back the first Senior IV title for the DULBC in 12 years. 

Ruth Morris, Sally O'Brien, Aoife Leahy and Gill Crowe