10 nominations for the University of Dublin Seanad elections 2020

Posted on: 14 February 2020

The nomination process in the constituency of the University of Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, for the forthcoming election to Seanad Éireann closed at 1 pm today.

The following 10 candidates have been declared as standing for election within the University of Dublin constituency as follows:

1. ALI O’SHEA, Abbas director, AFA Consultancy
2. BACIK, Ivana senator
3. BYRNE, Derek academic and media professional
4. CLONAN, Tom academic / journalist
5. MACNEILL, Hugo consultant / non-profit
6. NORRIS, David senator
7. O’GORMAN, Joseph company director / administrator, Central Societies Committee, Trinity College Dublin
8. PRIESTLEY, William Green Party county councillor
9. RUANE, Lynn public representative
10. SCANLON, Keith electrical and electronic engineer

Ballot papers will be issued by registered post to electors registered on the 2019 Electoral Register in the constituency on Friday 28th February, 2020. The poll will close at 11 am on Tuesday 31st March, 2020, following which the counting of votes will be conducted.

The count will take place in the Public Theatre located in Trinity’s Front Square.


Media Contact:

Tom Molloy, Director of public affairs and communications | Tom.Molloy@tcd.ie | +353 1 896 4167