The Grattan Scholars – School of Social Sciences and Philosophy’s new Scholarship Programme

The School of Social Sciences and Philosophy’s new Scholarship Programme – The Grattan Scholars was launched by Provost Dr Patrick Prendergast. 

Commenting on the significance of the initiative, Professor Peter Simons, Head of the School of Social Sciences and Philosophy, said: “Ireland faces challenges that are economic, political, social, and even moral in nature. The Grattan Scholars will provide welcome expertise to help the country face those challenges.”

Through the initiative, scholarships are to be awarded to PhD students of outstanding talent, from Ireland and abroad and selected to study a key research theme within the School’s disciplines of economics, philosophy, political science and sociology. The Grattan Scholarship Programme will build on the School’s record of teaching and research excellence, ensuring that Trinity continues to play a leading role internationally in the School’s key areas of research expertise.  They include migration, post euro crisis issues, European integration and policy relating to the creative sector. 

Grattan Scholars Christina Kinghan (centre left) and Sara Mitchell (centre right) with their supervisors Professors Carol Newman and John O’Hagan 

The programme will provide scholars with the opportunity to gain invaluable research and teaching experience, preparing them to take their place as academic leaders of the future. Trinity is committed to teaching excellence and places a strong value on promoting teaching as a scholarly activity. Teaching will therefore be an important part of the scholars’ remit. “PhD students play a vital role in delivering high quality and engaging teaching in the School – their expertise and enthusiasm genuinely enriches the learning experience of our students,” according to Assistant Professor Eleanor Denny, Director of Undergraduate Teaching in the School.

Funding for the first two Grattan Scholars has been made possible thanks to the generosity of the UK Trust for TCD, and School of Social Sciences and Philosophy alumni John Pearson and Rupert Pennant-Rea. 

For additional information regarding Grattan Scholarship Programme please contact Professor John O’Hagan in the School of Social Sciences and Philosophy.