School of Medicine Establishes Tercentenary Board

Posted on: 21 June 2007

2011 shall see the celebration of 300 years of medical teaching and research in Trinity College Dublin. With the mission “to facilitate, foster and provide the highest international standards in education and professional training of medical undergraduates and postgraduates and research and scholarship,” the School of Medicine has launched its preparations for the Tercentenary by establishing a Tercentenary Board.

As it prepares to celebrate the big anniversary, the School, with its rich history and a proud tradition of scholarship and excellence, has ambitious plans for further development.

The Tercentenary Board will serve as the principal leadership group to oversee the development of the School in the run up to the Tercentenary and beyond and will provide overall direction for the success of the effort.

Members of the founding board of the School of Medicine, who had an
inaugural meeting of the Board on 15 June 2007, are:

Dr. Michael Asbury, Non-executive Chairman of Photopharmica Ltd. (former International Marketing Director with Zeneca Pharmaceuticals and Vice President of Global Licensing at AstraZeneca, UK) (TCD alumnus)

Professor Adrian Hill, Professor of Human Genetics, Wellcome Trust Principal Research Scientist, Oxford University (Scholar, TCD)

Mr. Fergus Hoban, Chief Executive Officer, Touchstone (TCD Business School alumnus)

Dr. Stanley Quek, Chief Executive of Frasers Property Groups, Singapore (TCD alumnus)

Mr. Dave Shanahan, Chief Executive Officer, Charter Medical Group (TCD alumnus)

“I am delighted that these distinguished people put their trust in the School of Medicine and are ready to support our efforts to be more innovative, research-driven, interdisciplinary and international to meet the challenges of the 21st century education and research. The School needs the guidance of an international board to make it happen,” said Prof. Dermot Kelleher, Head of School of Medicine and Vice Provost of Medical Affairs.

Mr david went, professor adrian hill, mr. fergus hoban, dr. john hegarty, dr. michael asbury, professor dermot kelleher, professor colm o'morain, dr. stanley quek, tercentenary board members

Mr David Went, Prof Adrian Hill, Mr Fergus Hoban, Dr. John Hegarty, Dr. Michael Asbury, Prof Dermot Kelleher, Prof Colm O’Morain and Dr. Stanley Quek form the School of Medicine’s Tercentenary Board, established to prepare for the celebration of 300 years of medical teaching and research in Trinity College Dublin.