Recipients of the 2006 Trinity College Dublin Provost’s Teaching Awards Announced

Posted on: 02 May 2006

Recipients of the 2006 Provost’s Teaching Awards Trinity College Dublin were announced on Tuesday 2 May 2006. The Awards are College’s principal means of celebrating those academic staff that have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence in College and who promote teaching as a scholarly activity.

Professor Ivana Bacik, School of Law, Ms Katrin Eberbach, Department of Germanic Studies, Dr Martin Henman, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, were all recognised for their dedication and commitment to teaching and learning excellence, while Ms Inmaculada Arnedillo-Sanchez, School of Computer Science and Statistics, and School of Education was presented with an Early Career Award for excellence in teaching.

Dr John Hegarty, Provost of Trinity College Dublin presented the winners with their citations and awards at a ceremony in the Provost’s House in the College. The candidates were selected through a rigorous process involving their nomination by their students or their peers, an examination of their teaching philosophy, practice and scholarship, an evaluation of their teaching portfolios, and consideration of feedback both from their academic peers and current students.  This process was overseen by members of College’s sub-Committee on Academic Practice which had the difficult task of selecting the winners.

The scheme is sponsored by the Higher Education Authority and funded under the National Development Plan 2000/2006.