New Scholars and Fellows Announced

Posted on: 13 May 2008

Seventy-one scholars were announced along with twenty-one Fellows, including two Honorary Fellows, the Honorable, Mr Justice Ronan Keane and Professor Adrian Hill, Professor of Human Genetics of Oxford on Trinity Monday, 12 May 2008.

The announcement was made by the Provost of Trinity, Dr. John Hegarty, surrounded by members of the Board of the College in full academic gowns and hoods on the steps of the Public Theatre. The ceremony is one of the oldest and most colourful in the College and marks the beginning of the annual Trinity Week. Students and staff celebrated the occasion with colleagues, friends and families in Front Square.

Scholars are elected annually in various subjects as the result of an examination held in Trinity term. Research achievement or scholarship of a high order is the primary qualification for Fellowship, along with evidence of the candidate’s contribution to the academic life of the College and effective record of teaching.

New scholars karina jakubowicz and georgina folan (r).

New Scholars Karina Jakubowicz and Georgina Folan (r) at the announcement of New Scholars and Fellows on Trinity Monday.

Complete list of Fellows and Scholars