Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Current Students > Undergraduate Students > Awards > Patrick Keatinge Undergraduate Prize

The Patrick Keatinge Undergraduate Prize

There are three prizes for SS undergraduate students of Political Science: the Patrick Keatinge Undergraduate Prize (first awarded 2013), the Eddie Hyland Prize (first awarded 2018), and the Trinity Trust Prize (first awarded 1981). There is one prize for JS students of Political Science and Geography, the James Killen prize (first awarded 2015). There is one prize for SF students of Political Science, the Ronald J Hill prize (first awarded 2016). In addition, an annual Basil Chubb Prize, named after Trinity's first Professor of Political Science, is awarded by the PSAI for the best PhD thesis produced in an Irish university.

The Patrick Keatinge prize was founded in 2012, and first awarded in 2013, with support from the Trinity Alumni Appeal in honour of Professor Patrick Keatinge MRIA, who was a distinguished member of the Department of Political Science, as a researcher and teacher, from 1963 to 1999. It is awarded annually to the Senior Sophister student, studying Political Science alone in SS year, who achieves the best performance. Value, €100 and a medal.


2023: Anna Browne (History and Political Science)

2022: Aminata Roth (BESS)

2021: Kara Medoff (BESS)

2020: Gordon Collins (PolGeog)

Award Jan 22

Prof Peter Stone (Head of Dept of Political Science) presents the 2020 Patrick Keatinge prize to Gordon Collins at the TCD Campanile, 18 January 2022 (presentation delayed due to Covid-19 restrictions).





2019: Anne Vollertsen (PPES)

Award Oct19

Prof Patrick Keatinge awards the prize to Anne Vollertsen at the TCD Campanile, 31 October 2019.




2018: Kezia Wright (History and Political Science)

PK presentation Jul 18 Presentation

Prof Patrick Keatinge presents award to Kezia Wright, 6 July 2018. Also in second photograph: Profs Will Phelan (Head of Department) and Constantine Boussalis (dissertation supervisor)





2017: Samuel Johnston (PPES)

Samuel Johnston with Dr Gavin Morrison (Political Science)



2016: Neil Murphy (PPES)

Gavin Morrison and Neil Murphy

Neil Murphy with Dr Gavin Morrison (Political Science)



2015: David Beatty (History and Political Science)




2014: Anja Schoen (Philosophy and Political Science)

Anja Schoen and Dr Michelle Darcy

Anja Schoen with Dr Michelle D'Arcy (Political Science)



2013: Crispin Mäenpää (History and Political Science)

Crispin Maenpaa with Prof Raj Chari

Crispin Mäenpää with Dr Raj Chari (Political Science)