Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Current Students > Undergraduate Students > Awards > James Killen Prize in Political Science & Geography

The James Killen Prize in Political Science and Geography

There are three prizes for SS undergraduate students of Political Science: the Patrick Keatinge Undergraduate Prize (first awarded 2013), the Eddie Hyland Prize (first awarded 2018), and the Trinity Trust Prize (first awarded 1981). There is one prize for JS students of Political Science and Geography, the James Killen prize (first awarded 2015). There is one prize for SF students of Political Science, the Ronald J Hill prize (first awarded 2016). In addition, an annual Basil Chubb Prize, named after Trinity's first Professor of Political Science, is awarded by the PSAI for the best PhD thesis produced in an Irish university.

The James Killen prize in Political Science and Geography was founded in 2014/15 by the Departments of Geography and Political Science. It is awarded annually, from 2014/15 to 2020/21 inclusive, on the recommendation of the two Departments, to the continuing Political Science and Geography Junior Sophister student who, in the judgement of the programme’s Junior Sophister Court of Examiners, performs at the highest level in the Junior Sophister year. Value, €100.

Recipients (Political Science and Geography):


2020: Alexandra Tone


2019: Gordon Collins


Gordon Collins presented with award by Prof Will Phelan (Head, Department of Political Science), 15 October 2019




2018: Alexander Fitzpatrick

JKprize 18

Alexander Fitzpatrick presented with award by Dr Patrick Bresnihan (PolGeog director), 28 September 2018



2017: Aisling O'Boyle

Aisling O'Boyle presented with award by Prof Raj Chari (PolGeog director), 26 October 2017


2016: Charles Murray Brown


2015: Kayleigh O'Gara