Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Current Students > Undergraduate Students > Awards > Eddie Hyland Prize

The Eddie Hyland Prize

There are three prizes for SS undergraduate students of Political Science: the Patrick Keatinge Undergraduate Prize (first awarded 2013), the Eddie Hyland Prize (first awarded 2018), and the Trinity Trust Prize (first awarded 1981). There is one prize for JS students of Political Science and Geography, the James Killen prize (first awarded 2015). There is one prize for SF students of Political Science, the Ronald J Hill prize (first awarded 2016). In addition, an annual Basil Chubb Prize, named after Trinity's first Professor of Political Science, is awarded by the PSAI for the best PhD thesis produced in an Irish university.

The Eddie Hyland prize was founded in 2017 by donations from the Department of History and the Department of Political Science, in honour of Dr Eddie Hyland, who was a distinguished member of the Department of Political Science from 1977 to 2015 and is a fondly-remembered teacher of students from both departments. It is awarded annually, from 2018 to 2027 inclusive, on the recommendation of the Senior Sophister History and Political Science court of examiners, to the Senior Sophister History and Political Science student who achieves the best performance. Value, €250.


2023: Felix Vanden Borre

2022: Giorgio Bechis

2021: Koloman Marscik

2020: Colm Trant

2019: Michaela Christina Kalcher

Award Oct19a Award Oct19b

Professors Eddie Hyland (Political Science) and Micheál Ó Siochrú (Head of Department, History) award the Eddie Hyland prize to Michaela Kalcher at the TCD Campanile, 31 October 2019.


2018: Kevin Culligan

Award 2018

Professors Ciaran Brady (History) and Eddie Hyland (Political Science) award the inaugural Eddie Hyland prize to Kevin Culligan at the TCD campanile, 29 June 2018.