Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Current Students > Undergraduate Students > Awards

The Ronald J Hill Prize in Political Science

There are three prizes for SS undergraduate students of Political Science: the Patrick Keatinge Undergraduate Prize (first awarded 2013), the Eddie Hyland Prize (first awarded 2018), and the Trinity Trust Prize (first awarded 1981). There is one prize for JS students of Political Science and Geography, the James Killen prize (first awarded 2015). There is one prize for SF students of Political Science, the Ronald J Hill prize (first awarded 2016). In addition, an annual Basil Chubb Prize, named after Trinity's first Professor of Political Science, is awarded by the PSAI for the best PhD thesis produced in an Irish university.

The Ronald J Hill prize was founded in 2016 by donations from the Trinity Association and Trust, Professor Ronald J. Hill, and the Department of Political Science, in honour of Professor Ron Hill, who was a distinguished member of the Department of Political Science, as a researcher and teacher, from 1969 to 2007. It is awarded annually, from 2016 to 2035 inclusive, on the recommendation of the Department of Political Science, to the elected Scholar who achieves the best overall result in the Political Science component in the Scholarship examination of that year. (It's worth emphasising that it's open to Political Science Schol students regardless of what programme they are following, not just Law and Political students, even if the list of recipients might imply otherwise.) Value, €120.


2021: Muireann Carton (Law and Political Science)


2020: Emilie Oudart (Law and Political Science)


2019: Jack Synnott (Law and Political Science)

RJH presentation

Jack Synnott with Prof Ron Hill and Prof Will Phelan (Head, Department of Political Science) at TCD Campanile, 21 May 2019.




2018: Daniel Gilligan (Law and Political Science)

Award 2018

Daniel Gilligan with Prof Will Phelan (Head, Department of Political Science), as Prof Ron Hill presents the award at TCD Campanile, 23 April 2018.



2017: Daniela Weerasinghe (Law and Political Science)

Daniela Weerasinghe with Prof Will Phelan (Political Science Schol coordinator) and Prof Ron Hill at TCD Campanile, 27 April 2017.



2016: Christopher McMahon (Law and Political Science)

Christopher McMahon with Prof Ronald J Hill

Christopher McMahon with Prof Ron Hill at TCD Campanile, 20 April 2016.