Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search



You are here Research > STAM - Science & Technology in Advanced Manufacturing > Team

Meet the Team

The STAM Research Group consists of a multi-disciplinary team based at the Department of Mechanical, Manufacturing and Biomedical Engineering focused on developing and implementing Manufacturing Innovation.

Principal Investigators

Associate Principal Investigators

Research Fellows

Name Area Email
Dr. Mark Culleton [1] Additive Manufacturing - Industry 4.0 mark.culleton@tcd.ie
Dr. Marios Kazasidis [2] Additive Manufacturing kazaside@tcd.ie
Dr. William Abbott [2] Additive Manufacturing abbottw@tcd.ie
Dr. Xingchen Yan [6] Additive Manufacturing TBC
Dr. Michael Cullinan [1] Industry 4.0 test automation CullinMF@tcd.ie
Dr. Paul Dunne [1] DTIF lead DunneP16@tcd.ie
Dr. Luis Romeral [1] Precision Finishing romerall@tcd.ie
Dr. Mansur Ahmed [2] Additive Manufacturing MAAHMED@tcd.ie

PhD Students

Name Area Email
Luke Dowling [3] Additive Manufacturing dowlinlu@tcd.ie
Harry Shipley [3] Additive Manufacturing shipleyh@tcd.ie
Bobby Gillham [2] Additive Manufacturing gillhamb@tcd.ie
Tom McKenna [3] Additive Manufacturing mckennto@tcd.ie
Ningsong Fan [6] Additive Manufacturing nsfan@tcd.ie
Shun Lu [6] Additive Manufacturing lus3@tcd.ie
Shaocong Qin [6] CFD Simulation for AM qins@tcd.ie
Zhongyu Wang [6] FE Simulation for AM wangz10@tcd.ie
JanMell Dugenio [2] Additive Manufacturing dugenioj@tcd.ie
Pengfei Yu [2] Additive Manufacturing yup1@tcd.ie
Cian Conry [1] Machine Learning in Advanced Manufacturing conryc@tcd.ie
Daniel Tobin [3] Meta-materials characterisation dtobin@tcd.ie

Research Engineers

Name Area Email
Jonathan Cassidy [2] Additive Manufacturing cassidjo@tcd.ie
Sarah Kelehan [1] Industry 4.0 automated test kelehasa@tcd.ie
David Smith [1] DTIF precision finishing smithd12@tcd.ie

Taught Masters Projects - MAI 2020/21

Name Project
Jaime Castellanos [2] Low pressure cold spray nozzle optimized design for copper deposition
Niall Cronin [3] Characterisation of 3D printed Auxetic Mechanical Metamaterials
Aidan Healy [6] Biological study on 3D-printed lattice tricalcium phosphate
Niall Horan [6] Additive manufacture of bulk metallic glasses (BMGs) by cold spray
David Kelly [3] Metal 3D Printing of Ti 6Al 4V for the purpose of orthopaedic implants
Hannah McMullin [1] Optimisation of laser cleaning for advanced manufacturing applications
Adam O'Halloran [1] Using machine learning for inspection of surfaces in medical device manufacturing
Darren Reilly [3] Force Generation in Friction Stir Spot Welding
Arnoldas Sasnauskas [2] 3D Printing of high precision electrically conductive micro tracks
David Simonian [2] 3D Printing of high sensitivity strain sensors using 2d material

Alumni

Graduated PhD Students

Name Date of Award Current Position
Dr. Paul Harris 2011 [1] MCRF UC Davis - US
Dr. Brian Donohue 2011 [1] Industry - Ireland
Dr. Andrea Bareggi 2012 [1] Research - France
Dr. Daniel Trimble 2013 [1] Professor - TCD
Dr. Emma Brazel 2013 [1] DePuy Synthes
Dr. Paul Ervine 2013 [1] Industry - Netherlands
Dr. Kevin Kerrigan 2013 [1] AMRC - UK
Dr. Eoin O Driscoll 2014 [1] Industry - US
Dr. Rory Stoney 2014 [1] Entrepreneur - StoneyCNC
Dr. Niall Aughney 2015 [1] Intel
Dr. Stuart Murphy 2015 [1] DePuy Synthes
Dr. Ivor Humphreys 2015 [1] Sonitus Systems
Dr. Barry Aldwell 2015 [1] TCD Research Fellow
Dr. Jeff Morgan 2015 [1] TCD Research Fellow - Industry 4.0
Dr. Darren McDonnell 2017 [1] Induchem Group
Dr. Mark Culleton 2017 [4] TCD Research Fellow - AMBER DePuy Synthes
Dr. Morten Meyer [2] 2018
Dr. Dominik Seiler 2020 [1]

Graduated Masters by Research

Name Date of Award Current Position
John Gilchrist 2010 [1] Industry - UK
Dr. Kevin Kerrigan 2010 [1] AMRC Sheffield
Giovanni Borza 2011 [1] Industry - Ireland
Donal Lynch 2011 [1] Industry - New Zealand
Dorotta Skupinska 2011 [1] Industry - Poland
Peadar Golden 2011 [1] Jaguar Landrover
Dr. Andrew Kelly 2011 [1] Bristol-Myers Squibb
Dr. Darren McDonnell 2013 [1] Induchem Group
Michael Reilly 2014 [1] TCD
Priyanka Mishra 2016 [2] Industry
Cian Martin 2017 [1] Stryker
Supervisors: [1] Garret O'Donnell; [2] Rocco Lupoi; [3] Daniel Trimble; [4] Kevin Kelly; [5] Craig Meskell; [6] Shuo Yin