Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Courses > Undergraduate > Foundation Scholarship & Prizes



Owen Sheehy Skeffington Memorial Awards


A memorial was established in 1973 from funds contributed in memory of Dr Owen Sheehy Skeffington, which includes a travel scholarship (value €2,000) awarded in alternate years.  It is open to any student in third level education in Ireland (e.g. registered at an Institute of Technology, School of Art, University).

Selection will be made by the Travel Scholarship Committee on the educational merits of the applications received and with regard to the personal circumstances of the applicants.

The only limitation is that the award must be used for travel in France related to the development of the applicant’s course of study which need not necessarily include the French language. However, applicants must show clearly in their letter of application how the visit will benefit their work.

Applicants should submit their case and completed application form (available here) by Tuesday 1st May 2018, with the name of one person in the institution at which they registered to whom reference may be made, to:

The Secretary
Owen Sheehy Skeffington Travel Scholarship committee
C/O Head of Department
French Department
Trinity College
Dublin 2


Dompierre-Chaufepié Prize

This prize was founded in 1912 by a gift from Gerard Alston Exham, Fellow 1895-1920, in memory of Eugénie de Dompierre de Chaufepié, of The Hague.  It is awarded annually on the results of the Senior Freshman examination.  A candidate must have attended two terms of honor lectures in French previous to the examination and must be approved by the Professor.  Value:  €90.

Lisa Sexton Memorial Award

This fund was established in 2005 in memory of Lisa Sexton by her family and friends to provide financial assistance and recognition of academic achievement for course work assessment essays in the Junior Sophister French options to a student who intends to continue to Senior Sophister moderatorship part II in French.  The fund is to be administered by the Trinity Benefaction Fund in conjunction with the Head of the French Department.  The award amount is to be €250 annually and is to be granted during Michaelmas term of the student’s Senior Sophister year.

Barbara Wright Prize

This prize was founded in 2006 by a gift from Barbara Wright, her colleagues and friends, to mark her retirement after forty years of service. It is awarded annually to the Senior Sophister who obtains the highest result, and not less than a First, in French Literature, in Part II of the Moderatorship examination in French. Should there be no suitably qualified candidate, the Prize, in the year in question, will accrue to the capital endowment of the award. 
Value, €175.

French Government Bronze Medal

These medals are awarded to the best candidates in French in each of the degree programmes at the final year examinations in the Department of French