Gerard Victory Composition Prize

This prize, founded in 2005 by a generous donation from the family of Dr Gerard Victory, is awarded annually for the best composition submitted as part of the moderatorship part II examinations in music (single honour or joint honour moderatorship). Value - €500.

Gerard Victory

Gerard Victory (1921 - 1995)

Thomas Joseph Gerard Victory (24 December 1921 – 14 March 1995) was a prolific Irish composer. He wrote over two hundred works across many genres and styles, including tonal, serial, aleatoric and electroacoustic music. Further information about Gerard Victory can be found on the website of Contemporary Music Centre Ireland, Ireland's archive and resource centre for new music, supporting the work of composers throughout the Republic and Northern Ireland.
Further Information

Prize Recipients

2022Daniel Vives Lynch
2021 Margareta Merenyi
2020 James Burns
2019 Richard Hughes
2018 Rory Murphy (brother of Elliot Murphy, recipient in 2014)
2017 Sinead Alari
2016 Adam Bradley
2015 Steven Gregory Foster
2014 Elliot Murphy
2013 Anna Elizabeth Clifford
2012 Sherry Hazlett
2011 David Edward Samuel Halpin
2010 Elis Czerniak
2009 Hannah Mary Ellen Carr
2008 Benedict Werner Schlepper-Connolly
2007 Catherine Stokes