Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search



You are here Research > Research Focus 2

Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience

Intellectual Context

The Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience research area addresses neuropsychiatric disorders which are major contributors to the global burden of disease and are thus of significant individual and socioeconomic importance. Research in this thematic area develops a scientific understanding of the basic mechanisms underlying these disorders, and the translation of this knowledge into improving clinical diagnosis and enabling effective treatments. This will be accomplished through the development of synergistic interactions between basic and clinical disciplines and collaboration with clinical and industrial partners.

Differential fMRI Study

Scientific and Societal Impact

Significant discoveries have been made in the identification of genetic risk factors, disorder pathogenesis, biomarkers, and biopsychosocial interventions to improve patient care and treatment outcome. Further research impacts are identified in a breadth of areas, including neurodevelopmental, child and adolescent disorders; adult psychosis and affective disorders; disorders of brain aging and neurodegeneration; neuroimmunology; and addictions. These impacts necessitate the development of a biobank of biological samples (e.g. DNA, RNA, protein) from well-characterised diagnostic and control groups, the implementation of new physics/imaging methods from preclinical to clinical MRI scanners to maximise the translational value of MRI research by combining electrophysiology as well as structural and functional MRI methods.

 

Strategic Research Objectives

Research in the Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience area has several key objectives:

  • Improve the health care of persons with neuropsychiatric disorders by engaging in a fully integrated approach linking basic and clinical biomedical research.
  • Drive innovation and early-stage research and development in areas of unmet clinical need including diagnostics, therapeutics and strategies targeted at disease prevention.
  • Support technology transfer to enable practical applications of research, including drug discovery and development of innovative healthcare products, devices and technologies.
  • Foster clinical translation to fast-track the uptake of research advances into clinical practice.
  • Facilitate development of new drugs, devices, biomarkers, or other alternative therapeutic strategies and new diagnostic or research techniques.
  • Catalyse activity at all stages of translational research to integrate target discovery, experimental preclinical and clinical research.
  • Directly bridge the gap between preclinical models and human research, and build on infrastructural innovations and human capital investments.
  • Collaborate further with industry to strengthen translational research and to access reagents and other high-throughput facilities.

Theme PIs

Theme PIs include:

Name Tel Ext. E-mail
Arun Bokde 4104 arun.bokde@tcd.ie
Aiden Corvin 2468 acorvin@tcd.ie
Andrew Harkin 2807 aharkin@tcd.ie
Astrid Sasse 2797 sassea@tcd.ie
Brian Lawlor 01 2493200 lawlorba@tcd.ie
Claire Gillan 8526 gillancl@tcd.ie
Clare Kelly   clare.kelly@tcd.ie
Declan Mc Loughlin 8469 d.mcloughlin@tcd.ie
Eleanor Malloy 3763 MOLLOYEL@tcd.ie
Ian Robertson 2684 ian.robertson@tcd.ie
Kumlesh Dev 4180 devk@tcd.ie
Louise Gallagher 5144 lgallagh@tcd.ie
Maeve Caldwell 4852 caldwelm@tcd.ie
Mani Ramaswami 8400 mani.ramaswami@tcd.ie
Marian Tsanov 4829 tsanovm@tcd.ie
Marina Lynch 8531 marina.lynch@tcd
Mary Cannon   marycannon@rcsi.com
Michael Gill 2241 mgill@tcd.ie
Michael Rowan 1567 mrowan@tcd.ie
Orla Hardiman 4496 hardimao@tcd.ie
Paul Dockree 3910 dockreep@tcd.ie
Richard Reilly 8471 richard.reilly@tcd.ie
Rob Whelan 1517 whelanrob@gmail.com
Rozas, Isabel 3731 rozasi@tcd.ie
Shane O Mara 8447 smomara@tcd.ie
Simon Mccarthy Jones   simon.mccarthy-jones@tcd.ie
Veronica O'Keane   vokeane@tcd.ie

Telephone numbers prefix +353 (1) 896