Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Awards > Student Awards

Dean of Students Volunteer Awards

Volunteer Awards Event 2021

The Dean of Students' Volunteer Awards event took place on Thursday 29th April 2021. An online webinar saw guest speakers Aisling Redden, and Jack Kavanagh, speak to and inspire our volunteer students. The Dean of Students, Prof Catherine McCabe congratulated our volunteers and thanked them for their commitment to their extra-curricular volunteering. The three categories of Dean of Students' List for Volunteering, Dean of Students' Leadership Award for Volunteering, and the Trinity Legacy Award for Volunteering were announced. A video of the event can be seen on the Trinity College Dublin YouTube channel by following this link. A full list of awardees in each category can be read below.

Trinity Legacy Award for Volunteering 2021

2021 Awardees

  • Roisin McGuigan for her outstanding work with Nitline, the student listening service
  • Kieran Morris, for his outstanding work with Movember
  • Claire Stalhuth & Jennifer Waters, for their outstanding work in campaigning for a Black Studies Module in Trinity College Dublin.
  • 2021 Nominations

  • Lee Campbell nominated by Lucy O'Connell, Emma Matthews et al in the CSC
  • Courtney McGrath nominated by Declan Reilly in the Disability Services
  • Daniel O'Reilly nominated by Eoin Hand in the TCDSU
  • Vivan Rath nominated by Prof Clodagh Brook, VP of Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion
  • Dean of Students' Leadreship Award for Volunteering 2021

    Shane Barrett Kavanagh Julia Bochenek Orla Charters Marta Menta Czinkoczky Conor Doyle Nicola Foynes Isabela Girleanu Eoin Hand Conor Kinsella Ida Lis Caroline Marion Colm McGroarty Ciara McLoughlin Ben McLoughlin Sierra Mueller-Owens Niamh Mullins Tanmay Nath Klaudia Obieglo Julia Piaskowy Iseult Sheehy Katie Smirnova Chloe Staunton Samantha Tancredi Obianuju Ukponu

    Dean of Students' List for Volunteering 2021

    Pulkit Agarwal Rachel Ardiff Aisling Byrne Ruaidhrí Campion Lia Carmel-Spencer Zoe Cummins Kultumi Deen-Jalloh Josephine Douglas Liam Finnegan Nadine Fitzpatrick Maegen Fleming Cian Fogarty Van Chester Gamas Melissa Hanna Aine Hennessy Inshiya Kagalwala David Kearney Graham Kelly Áine Kennedy Iffat Khalid Bernadine Lao Ida Lis Komal Malviya Laura McDarby Ella McGill Ryan McGowan Órla McGowan Aoife McMorrow Eimear McPhillips Laurence Moffat Stephen Molloy Olivia Moore Louise Nash Caoimhe Ní Ghormáin Ciara O’Sullivan Jack Parker Klaudia Weronika Pasik Amy Pierce Leigha Plunkett Caitríona Quinn Nazia Rafiq Elizabeth Ring Niamh Russell Lucy Skelton Nicola Stanley Camille Stock Phoebe Thompson Obianuju Ukponu Nishi J Vakil Adam Watt Brian Whelan Sana Zulfiqar.

    Message from the Dean of Students:

    In Trinity College Dublin, we are extremely proud of the extracurricular activity undertaken by students which ensures a vibrant campus and offers students diverse opportunities for learning, social development, and personal growth. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your extra-curricular activity. I would also like to acknowldege that the current COVID-19 situation means that it is a very different environment in which you find yourselves. However, students and staff have been stepping up to the plate and volunteering together to address the myriad challenges that COVID-19 has presented us. For those who may find that they have extra caring and work commitments at this time, thank you. We will work over the summer to find new and creative ways of engaging in extra-curricular activity whether in College or in the wider community over the coming academic year. You will find it a rich and rewarding experience and one that will cultivate skills and attributes that will stand to you in your personal and professional lives.

    The Dean of Students sponsors three awards to celebrate and recognise student volunteering in the community and in Trinity organisations such as the clubs, societies, SU, GSU, and publications. Students who are registered at the time of the application deadline are eligible to apply.

    Dean of Students' Volunteer Awards 2021 Process

    Check-list for 2021 Applications

  • Completed application form
  • Contact details for reference included in form
  • Three completed reflection pdfs
  • Send by email to the Civic Engagement Officer, Ms Simone Cameron-Coen
  • Dean of Students List for Volunteering
    Dean of Students'Leadership Award for Volunteering
    Trinity Legacy Award

    The application process incorporates a reflective element, so that students can consider the impact of volunteering on themselves and the individuals/organisations with whom they volunteer.

    Beginning with the 2020/2021 awards process we will incorporate a requirement to complete at least three reflection exercises using the reflective tool over 12 months as part of the qualifying criteria for these awards. These will not be assessed in and of themselves, but their completion is the relevant point. The resulting synthesis captured within the reflective exercise can be used to answer relevant questions in the application forms, if students wish to do so.

    In recognition of the wide range of volunteering and the commitments made by students, there are three categories of award. They recognise different levels of engagement and each level has different eligibility and evaluation criteria.
    These are:

    Dean's List for Volunteering
    Dean's Leadership Award for Volunteering
    Trinity Legacy Award for Volunteering

    Wishing you the best of luck in your voluntary endeavours,

    Prof Catherine McCabe
    Dean of Students