Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Trinity joins International Sustainable Campus Network

Posted on 12 February 2018

Administrator Wonjae Lee of the NAACC (left) and Provost Patrick Prendergast

Trinity College Dublin today joined the International Sustainable Campus Network (ISCN) to participate in a global exchange between campus sustainability leaders to further best practices. In signing the charter at a ceremony that kicked off the annual Green Week, Trinity became the first Irish university to be accepted for its commitment to the ISCN’s sustainability goals.

Joining the ISCN represents the next step in Trinity’s long-standing desire to promote sustainability and encourage its staff and students to live more sustainable lives. The Green Campus Committee, populated by students and staff alike, was established in 1993 and the Sustainability policy was formally adopted by the College Board in 2008. An Taisce certified Trinity as a Green Flag campus in 2013, while the College Strategic Development Plan (SDP) 2014-2019 incorporates sustainability actions and initiatives into strategic college management and operations. Additionally, to drive this commitment, the Provost's Advisory Committee on Sustainability and Low Carbon Living was established in 2017 and staff and students have signed up to Sustainability Networks to act as ambassadors.

Today, the university takes the next step by joining the ISCN, whose global forum of 80 members represents top-tier colleges and universities from over 30 countries across the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia. This forum supports leading colleges, universities, and corporate campuses in the exchange of information, ideas, and best practices for achieving sustainable campus operations and integrating sustainability in research and teaching.

Trinity is the first Irish university to be accepted into the ISCN, where it joins members like the University of Edinburgh, the University of Oxford, Yale, Princeton University and Harvard University.

Pictured at the signing of the Charter (from left to right, foreground) are: Registrar, Professor Paula Murphy, Environment Officer, Student Union, Simon Benson, Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast, and Senator, David Norris.